Jill Of Some Trades

And Master Of At Least One

A Brazil Nut A Day Keeps the Doctor Away

2 Comments

I just watched a fascinating episode of Dr. Oz called “What’s Your Sleep Type?”  It was so interesting, that I’m going to have to write two separate entries on it.  Here is the link for your viewing pleasure http://www.doctoroz.com/episode/whats-your-sleep-type-personalized-plan-fix-your-sleep

According to the sleep experts interviewed in this episode, there are four different sleep types:

Very Short Sleepers – 0-4 hours every night

Short Sleepers – 5-6 hours every night – this is pretty much what I am

Ideal Sleepers – 7-8 hours every night

Over-Sleepers – 9-10 hours every night

When I was younger, I was a very short sleeper wearing the 2-3 hours of sleep that I used to get as a badge of honour.  Now, realizing the health implications of sleep deprivation, my goal is to become an ideal sleeper.  According to this episode, short sleepers consume the most calories, less vitamin C and less selenium than the average population.  I eat tons of vegetables so vitamin C likely isn’t an issue, but I do not eat any selenium rich foods such as mushrooms or brazil nuts on a regular basis.  Certain types of fish are also very high, but brazil nuts pack the most bang for your selenium-rich buck.  Just 1-2 of these a day gives you all of the selenium that you need.  As a bonus, selenium-rich foods can also help with acne!  I’m heading to the grocery store now to see if this tough nut to crack makes a difference in both my sleep and my skin.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun so my blog evolved from The Whiz-Ard That is Dr. Oz into Jill of Some Trades. After the death of my mother, I added grief to my list of topics and this became a place for me to remember the good, but embrace the sad as well. I'll never write about any one thing - there is just so much in the world to comment on. Life is all about crying and laughing and learning, sometimes all at once and this is what I hope that my blog is for you.

2 thoughts on “A Brazil Nut A Day Keeps the Doctor Away

  1. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do iit for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog andd would like to find
    oout where u got this from. thanks a lot

    Like

    • Thanks Roland! I did this myself using the WordPress provided backgrounds. Some of the pictures that I use are my own and some, I’ve found online. I am going to try to clean it up a bit and add more tabs. Just let me know if you have any other questions.

      Like

Leave a comment