The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

My Left Foot

Leave a comment

I’ve been suffering, and when I say suffering, I’m not being a drama queen, from plantar fasciitis for more than six months.  Plantar fasciitis  is not a flesh eating wart, although that’s what it sounds like.  It is a strain of the plantar fascia, which is a ligament that connects your heel to your toe bones.  There are many different causes, in my case, it was repeated injuries to my left ankle.  Yes, I am a KLUTZ.  When I tell someone that I am falling for them, I mean literally, falling.  I don’t always fall, I’m also the thing that goes bump in the night.  Oops should be my middle name.  Finally, after all of these years, the multiple injuries have caught up to me and like many people, I have a full blown case of this painful foot problem.  It’s almost like a secret club.  At least four of my friends have it – and probably more.

I’ve done everything from physiotherapy to accupuncture to going to a chiropractor.  To date, my best results have been with the chiropractor.  He uses deep tissue massage and high intensity ultrasound to alleviate the symptoms.  I had one pain free month and now it’s back full force.  I’m going to keep going, but wanted to look into Dr. Oz’s recommendations.  The first video that I found, was mainly about footwear, more specifically flip flops.  I always knew they were bad for your feet, and I never found them comfortable, so I only wear them once every few years on beach holidays.  If you are a flip flop lover, take a look at this video for suggestions on how you can wear your beloved shoe but not hurt your feet http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sxV2MbPWUYU.

I couldn’t find a lot of specific recommendations from Dr. Oz, but I will continue on my hunt for information from him and report back!

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

