The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

At Risk Adult

Leave a comment

Your body is trying to renew itself while you sleep.  People like me who are, for the most part, very short sleepers, are four times more likely to suffer from a stroke and twice as likely to have a heart attack.  Scary stuff!  According to the Dr. Oz show that I provided the link for in my post yesterday, you can determine your ideal sleep needs by simply counting back 7.5 hours from your natural wake up time.  Here is my calculation – I’ve always hated math, but this was pretty basic:

6:45am – 7.5 hours = 11:15pm

I should have my lights out at this time in order to get the optimal 7 hours of sleep each night.  I’m going to try this Sunday-Thursday for sure!  The sleep experts mention you should be doing this 7 days a week, but just keeping it real, I’m going to bed later and getting up later on weekends unless this long winter never ends in which case, I’m just going to hibernate.

If you are feeling really ambitious, you can also calculate your sleep efficiency which isn’t all that meaningful to me, and even more MATH!  But let’s try it just for fun…

Total Sleep Time divided by Total Time In Bed times 100% = Sleep Efficiency – this should equal greater than 85% and you have to subtract time when you get up.

I had a really bad sleep last night and only slept for 3 hours total so my efficiency looks like this:

3 hours of sleep divided by 7.5 hours in bed x 100% = 46.67%

I’m totally becoming a sleep failure, but determined to learn how to do this.  It can’t be all that hard – everyone does it – right?  To help, I’m going to try to get out of bed after 20 minutes if I haven’t fallen asleep, just like Dr. Oz and sleep experts ordered. 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

