The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

A Return to Barcelona

4 Comments

P1030410

Park Guell

When I was younger, and frankly, more stupid, I was eager to explore the world.  Even though I was a world explorer, I wasn’t very worldly and I made a fuss over never wanting to visit the same place twice.  As I became a more seasoned traveller, I ended up with a HUGE first world problem, I had to go to Paris a second time.  It was a huge sacrifice, but somehow I got through it.  Later, I ended up going to Rome, Venice and Florence a second time on a family trip, and what do you know, I somehow managed to survive.  I then went to Paris a third time, and low and behold, I wasn’t even bored.  I somehow ended roaming in Rome a third time, and it wasn’t the end of the world….

…and then, I was FORCED to spend two days in another city that I’ve visited before -Barcelona.  When I visited the city for a second time, something in my blond little head finally clicked…seeing a city or country for a second, third or fourth time means that you get to discover new things.  You get to “finish the job” so to speak and really immerse yourself into the culture.  You get to see things that you’ve never seen before or see things that you have visited before in a whole new way.  Yes, it’s a big world out there, but there is nothing wrong with revisiting an old favourite, and that’s Barcelona for me.  My next few entries will tell you where to go, stay, and what to do when you are there if you have Type A tendencies like me and need to cover as much territory as possible, but first, I just want to share a few photos of the Barcelona that I didn’t get to see the first go round.

P1030438.JPG

Park Guell  

 

P1030434.JPG

Park Guell

P1030427.JPG

Yup Park Guell

P1030417.JPG

And Again!

P1030401.JPG

Ok – I’m a little obsessed with Park Guell

I never got to see Park Guell the first time I went to the Big B and it was spectacular.   I’ll write more about it the Type A entry, but I just wanted you to see what you miss when you don’t return to a city, and I would have missed this.  Lesson learned.

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

4 thoughts on “A Return to Barcelona

  1. Guess I’m due for another trip to Barcelona. It’s only been 36 years…

    Like

  2. I’m off to Barcelona in a month (for the second time). Looking forward to your recommendations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

