The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

“I Know This Much Is True”

2 Comments

Halifax-20150223-00265

Halifax Harbour

Yes, I “borrowed” the title of my blog today from a Wally Lamb book, but after the month that I had, I thought I deserved to take a loaner on such a great title.  If nothing else, I probably learned more life lessons in one month than I have in the last decade.  Lucky you, you get to read some of my deep thoughts…and here they are:

  • Approval from the morally bankrupt is meaningless, at least to me
  • If you aren’t seeking someone’s approval, then you can’t be disappointed
  • We cannot direct the winds, but we can adjust our sails.  Profound, but I can’t take credit for it – I saw it painted on the wall of a hospital room – basically, we can’t change people or circumstances, but we can control how we react to them
  • A family can be better and stronger without certain people in it
  • If you wait long enough, anything can happen
  • People who are set in their ways cannot change even though I believe change is possible if you want to badly enough
  • Doing the right thing can be hard, but it’s easier when you have your sisters with you
  • Sometimes, knowing that you did the right thing has to be enough
  • Don’t put off until tomorrow, what you can do today – Moms are right about this
  • I’ll never be someone who misses an opportunity – it brings me some semblance of peace
  • Sometimes, you have to know your limitations.  I learned mine on Friday when I did the Zombie Room Escape – we didn’t escape and I am terrible at logic problems.  It was fun though and the Zombie was loud, but very nice
  • You can age gracefully
  • It’s ok to fall asleep at a play or a musical – but it is a little embarrassing when you are with a very geriatric crowd and they aren’t the ones taking the nap
  • West Jet is just more fun than Air Canada – not profound, but true

That’s all for today’s deep thoughts.  Today, I am grateful for my family, friends and frousins.  Nothing major, just that.  I do have to start doing some research into energy/fatigue – I’ve been completely exhausted this last month, and I need to do something about it.  I’ll be researching Dr. Oz’s solutions and more – if I can stay awake to do it.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on ““I Know This Much Is True”

  1. I thought you borrowed the title from a Spandau Ballet song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

