The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Raw

Leave a comment

054

…my throat that is from a really annoying cough and nasty cold.  It’s the kind that when you sneeze, it hurts your chest because it’s so strained from coughing so much.  So what natural treatments have I been using to treat this annoyance:

-I’ve been trying to sleep – it hasn’t worked, mostly because I’ve been coughing so much.  Last night, I slept for a grand total of 2 hours.  I had to get up to have some tea and honey.  I even stayed at home all day from work from my annual sick day – I’m one of those annoying keeners that has to be on their death bed to not go to work and today, I felt that way.  Plus I’m so hoarse talking is painful.

-Obviously tea and honey.  Honey is somewhat soothing, but I’ve had more honey in the last 3 days than I usually have in the course of a year.

-Water – I’ve been drinking as much as I can to help sooth my irritated throat.

-I turned my humidifier on and have had it going on all day.  I can’t sleep with it running – it’s too noisy.

-Echinacea – but I think I’ll stop for now.

-Chicken soup – also soothing, but not a cure all.

So what do I think the magic cure is?  Time.  I know that we are all used to the quick fix, and I was trying everything that I can think of, but being smart, staying in and trying to drink a lot (not alcohol) and rest is really all we can do.  I am breaking down and taking cough medicine, mostly to get some rest.  Sorry – I was that I had better news for you and for me.  On a brighter note, I did manage to reach my goal of getting through the holidays and through my sisters’ birthdays with hardly a sneeze.  Now I must go and hack up a lung.  I still remain though, even through sickness,

Gratefully yours : )

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

