The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Bad People

Leave a comment

care bear

Image courtesy of Google

Ever had one of those days?  You know the kind – when it feels like the world is out to get you? OR even when you look at the world and the sunny part of your disposition wants to think that the world is filled with good people, but the Grumpy Bear part of you knows that it’s really filled with BAD people?  Well, today Grumpy Bear got the better of me – it is one of those days.  All that I’ve done all day is deal with issues at work that are more political than real (not that I like to use this as a forum for venting about work).  I won’t get into detail, but suffice it to say, I understand that everyone is under pressure and that times are challenging, but why people can’t just try to work with some degree of respect and with the understanding that we are all in it together is beyond me.  It’s one of the few times that I’ve ever felt like crying because of work, but I just can’t give into that type of emotion, especially when I’m not PMSing.

Deepak and Dr. Oz would tell me to meditate, and I’m choosing to write (and vent instead).  Then, to make matters even worse, have you picked up a paper today or yesterday for that matter?  Freedom of expression was attacked with the shooting of 12 people at a satirist newspaper in Paris yesterday, then a couple of angry anti-Islamists decide that it’s ok to beat up a pregnant woman in retaliation?  Is that for real?  A man held up the drug store next to my work yesterday and he was shot trying to escape police, a mother just killed her children AND Kim Kardashian had to stay up all night with Kanye to review her wardrobe – will the tragedies ever stop?

It makes me feel like never reading a newspaper again. Why can’t we have a newspaper that only focuses on good news and positive thoughts?  Why can we use the news ever to inspire people who do good instead of glorifying those who don’t?  Why do we continue to build people up only to relish the moment when they are stripped down to what they really are – human?  Why do we always want to know more about the killers than to sympathize with the victims?  Why do we watch people going through untold tragedy and then make it worse by shoving a camera in their face and asking them how they are coping with the fact that their loved one died in a plane crash, was the victim of a heinous crime or just the sadly sick person who committed the crime themselves.  Every once in a while, it would be nice to give people their privacy but we live in a high consumption, social media driven world and that won’t happen.

Stress is one of the number one causes of disease and we constantly push people and ourselves to take on more instead of reaching out and helping someone take on less.  I wish the world could be a kinder, gentler place.  A place where people felt appreciated and valued.  Where good deeds were the lead stories in the news, not constant tragedies.  Where people were allowed to go to a party and act like a bit of a fool and not have to worry about it being posted on social media the next day.  A world where victims weren’t shamed, but lifted up and helped overcome their sadness.  Where bad people were punished, but maybe, just maybe given the chance to rehabilitate.  Where we respected the environment and the non-human creatures that are part of it.  Where no innocent child or animal was ever treated with cruelty or neglect.  It’s a nice thought…

I think I need a negativity break and I think Dr. Oz and Deepak Chopra would agree, so, for one day per week, for the next four weeks, I’m not going to say one negative thing.  I’m not going to complain about or criticize anything or anybody.  I’m not going to read the news on those particular days and I’m not going to go online (except to answer messages from friends).  Let’s see if taking a break from negativity will make things feel a bit more positive.  AND to all of the bad people out there – maybe you should join me – on second thought – only good people need apply : )  I’m picking Saturday as positivity day – how can a weekend day be bad?

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

