The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Almost a Year Later, I’m Still A Believer

Leave a comment

I get it, Dr. Oz is wrong more than half of the time.  Here is what The National Post had to say about the good doctor on December 23:

“Medical researchers at the University of Alberta has two words of advice about the recommendations on medical talk shows: be skeptical.

In a new study in the British Medical Journal, they found only one-third of the recommendations on Dr. Mehmet Oz’s hugely popular syndicated show and about half those on The Doctors were supported by believable or somewhat believable evidence.”

I absolutely agree that much of the information presented on the Dr. Oz Show is wrong.  I also have seen cases where Dr. Oz contradicts information that he has given on past shows – coconut oil was presented as a cure all in one show, evil tropical oil in another and then again as a fantastic fuel to cook your food with on another day.  Not good – and he didn’t explain that the topic had been covered already.  On a more positive note, he did apologize for recommending agave on another show acknowledging that it isn’t any better than regular sugar.

So what do I make out of all of this given that I’ve devoted a year of my life to following his advice?  Exactly what I’ve stated all the way through – the magic of television is responsible for Dr. Oz.  He doesn’t have the time to research all of the topics that he presents on the show – that is the job of his production and editorial staff on the show (and his magazine for that matter).  In real terms, if you are looking for a great cardiothoracic surgeon, Dr. Oz is your guy!  If you are looking for very specific health information on diet, go to a dietician.  If you are looking for exercise information, go to a trainer.  If you are looking for information on oral health, go to a dentist.  If you are looking for fun information presented in a light hearted way, and are willing to spend some time doing some research, then by all means, take some advice from the Dr. Oz Show, but take it with a grain of salt and don’t let it replace your primary health care giver or a professional’s advice.

I gained a lot of very valuable information from Dr. Oz’s outlets including his show, his books, Share Care website, his magazine and just some general interviews.  If I questioned anything though, I did the research, sometimes for hours, to really understand if I was going to help or hurt myself by doing things like taking probiotics, taking Vitamin D3, or any other kind of supplement, etc.  I made the decision not to take anything other than Vitamin D3 and probiotics because there was sound scientific research to support them.  Anything else, I’m staying away from.

Sometimes it’s about common sense.  If it sounds too good to be true – it probably is.  Dr. Oz isn’t guilty of malpractice, and I don’t think he would intentionally provide useless or harmful information.  He is a victim of his success to an extent and a victim of lack of time.  People can blame him for misinformation, but at the same time, you can’t use a TV show as a primary care physician.  I’ll continue to be a fan of Dr. Oz and take his advice with that grain of salt that I referred to.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

