The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Southern Fried and Dignified

Leave a comment

P1020449

As part of my plan to de-stress a bit, I went away to North Carolina to visit my good friend Claudette.  The Type A in me usually does my research on any destination that I go to.  This time, I decided to do no research.  I was simply putting my faith in a local who knew exactly what she was doing and I LOVED the experience.  Instead of doing every touristy thing out there, I got to experience Winston Salem and the surrounding counties the way they were meant to be seen – almost like a local.  I felt at one with the people in this lovely little place.  I think I was meant to live in the south.  I loved the pink cowboy hat I tried on, the hospitality, the fact that my hair was bigger and bouncier there and the fact that I felt really understood by the women there.  I was chatting with some people at a restaurant (they are so friendly there, which I love) – I told them about my HORRIBLE experience at a Pittsburgh Steelers game last year  when my Longchamps purse was cruelly (and unusually) taken from me and I was forced to put the contents of my bag in a hideous Steelers clear plastic bag and they were outraged.  I was told that no one takes a Southern Ladies’ pocketbook – nobody – I felt like I had come home.   If I have to beg, borrow or steal (not Steeler) –  no one will ever take my pocketbook again!

P1020443

Dr. Oz has a black Labrador Retriever and has commented on the stress relief that pets provide.  My friend had a beautiful Golden Retriever/Labrador Retriever cross.  It was just the sweetest dog ever (aside from the dog that I grew up with) and having the chance to be around a dog for 3 days was also very soothing.  This dog loved attention, but was so gentle.  He was an 80 pound marshmallow.

P1020530

It was also nice to go to a place where the pace was slower.  Just being able to stroll instead of rushing from place to place was nice.  The only complaints?  Hot tea is not a big deal there and I’m a tea drinker.  Sweet tea to me is just torture in a glass, I’m a British subject  and I need a steamy hot beverage.  It was also unseasonably cold, but you can’t control the weather.  It’s a small price to pay for the fabulous experience that I had.  Check out some of my favourite pics…

P1020459

Old Salem

P1020473

Old Salem

P1020522

Chapel Hill (UNC)

So what am I grateful for?  That’s simple.  I’m grateful I got to see my friends – I even got to catch up with a friend from junior high who happened to live in a nearby town.  I was touched that she drove all the way out to see me.  I’m grateful that Claudette took us to such great places.  I’m grateful that I had a chance to spend time with such a special doggy and I’m grateful that I had a chance to get away from it all for a few days.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

