The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Fly Away From Stress

Leave a comment

315

Making your way in the world today takes everything you’ve got!  Takin’ a break from all your worries sure would help a lot…before I get sued by the writer of the theme song from “Cheers” I’ll stop and tell you I’m heading away on a little holiday. I’m going to North Carolina to visit some friends – can’t wait!!!  Before I get there, I have to deal with the stress that flying causes me.  I leave for the airport in 7.5 hours so, that’s stressful.  The fact that I’m packed and ready to go and my work is in ok shape relieves some stress.  I hate flying so that’s stressful.  I love seeing places that I’ve never seen before so that relieves some stress.  I hate the take off so that’s stressful…but I get to see friends that I rarely get to see…

As you can see, sometimes, there is balance in a stressful situation.  I’ve written about my fear of flying before, and it hasn’t gotten any better.  The option is not to travel at all and that’s not really an option for me.  The good news is that this time, I’ve had less time to fret and knowing that I have everything that I need to keep myself comfortable for the flights does make me feel marginally better.  Having a bit of time off of work is probably also very healthy – I think even the over-worked Dr. Oz would agree.

I think the life lesson that I’m trying to impart is that sometimes, you have to do things, even if it causes you stress…but if you are going to put yourself through that kind of torture – make sure that it’s for something that you love to do – that’s what makes it worth your while.  Today, I am grateful that I am able to take this trip.  I know people that let their fear of flying keep them grounded – I’m lucky that I’m not one of those people,  but I sympathize completely.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

