The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

I Have A Pulse and I’m Proud!

Leave a comment

Water

Image courtesy of Google Images.

I was scanning doctoroz.com for something new and fresh to blog about when I came across “Dr. Oz’s New Health Rules” – check it out to try some of the tests on yourself http://www.doctoroz.com/gallery/dr-ozs-new-health-rules.  They are three simple things to try to help you gauge how healthy you are and to prevent dehydration.  Here is a quick snap shot:

  • Take your pulse daily to check for irregularity.  If you have any irregularities, then see your doctor right away.  I checked mine and it was boringly steady but maybe just a tad fast.  If you have never taken your pulse before, or just don’t think you have one (believe me, I’ve questioned whether some people were truly alive before, they were just so sedate) it’s easy!  I usually check my wrist (your radial artery if you are a fancy pants).  It’s on the thumb side just at the base where the wrist meets the base of your hitchhiker digit (sorry, I just didn’t want to repeat thumb twice in the same sentence).  Use the pads of two fingers and you should find it quickly.  If you can’t find it, keep trying by moving your fingers slightly up or down.  There is a slight hollow where I find mine.  If you still can’t find it, you are hopeless and should be ashamed.  Or you can just Google how to take it.
  • Throw out BMI and try Dr. Oz’s Body Quotient.  Dr. Oz’s equation takes things like your age and weight distribution into account in his equation.  This includes waist circumference because we all know that belly fat is bad fat.  Of course, that’s where I gain my weight lucky me!  Your number should be 0 but if it’s not (and mine isn’t) – all hope is not lost, you just have try Dr. Oz’s belly melt which I’ll blog about another day.
  • Drink when you are thirsty.  This is a simple little trick, but it makes perfect sense instead of following the 8 glasses of water a day.  That old tip doesn’t take into account things like heat, exercise and I’m sure that a bigger person may need more water than a smaller person – it can’t be one size fits all.  By drinking when you are thirsty, you are letting your body dictate when it’s the right time to take a drink, not trying to use some arbitrary number.  This makes perfect sense to me – thanks Dr. Oz!

I am in so much pain today – my massage therapist told me that my back is a bit of a mess, but I can still find things to be grateful for.  Today, I’m grateful that I was able to book a getaway to visit friends in North Carolina.  I’ve never been there, so I’m really excited, but even more excited about seeing people that I only get to see once a year.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

