The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Organized Hair-iness

Leave a comment

P1020390

Today is one of those days where I feel like covering two topics.  One is another episode in “Reformed Hoarders” and the next is something a little hairier.  Having gotten rid of reams of paper in my big office move inspired me to tackle some papers stored neatly in my room.  That was the job for today, along with my jewellery box and my hair doodle drawer.  I’m one of those sentimental people that likes to hold on to every card, note, and even test that I’ve ever gotten and today was about getting rid of some of those memories plus tossing a few other goodies here and there.

As I reviewed tests and essays from high school and university, I was struck by one thing – what was the purpose in holding on to these memories?  Was it so I could look back and feel smart – because I didn’t feel any smarter looking at them today.  Was it the fear that someone may ask me to trace the flow of blood through a frog’s circulatory system, because I haven’t been asked this question since Grade 12 Biology and somehow, I don’t think it’s going to be coming up again.  I’m probably not going to get many questions about my paper on the Political Economy of Canada either.  Like many other things, these all got tossed along with various versions of my resume (many that I was hanging on to were hopelessly out of date).  The picture just don’t do it justice – I easily got rid of about 500 sheets of paper (or more).  I did keep a few cherished assignments, but most didn’t make the cut.  Here is a quick list of a few other things that were tossed today:

  • 1 pair of pants
  • 2 bracelets (ugly and I’ve never worn them)
  • 1 watch – it was falling apart and there was no point in trying to donate it
  • 6 pairs of earrings – I never wear them or I get ear infections from them
  • 5 orphan earrings – much like my orphaned socks, their mates were never coming back and it was time to accept that
  • 1 box of candles – a thoughtful, yet really ugly gift that it was time to get rid of
  • hair elastics, clips and other hair accessories too numerous to count
  • 1 mirror
  • 1 bottle of dried up shoe polish

Again, it was all very cleansing and the extra room in my cupboard is also very nice.

Now on to a little fun Dr. Oz Test I tried.  It was to see how healthy my hair was.  It’s a simple test – you just pull about enough hair that would fit in a straw.  Start at the base and gently pull up and see what’s in your hand.  I had no hair come out and this is a good thing.  As we age, our bodies don’t produce hair as often, so you lose strands more often.  If you happen to do the test and say get three or more hairs, you are aging a little faster than you may want to.  Check out the video from doctoroz.com for more information – http://www.doctoroz.com/episode/could-antibiotics-meat-be-making-you-sick?video_id=3819362833001.  Being a bit obsessive about my hair, I did this test over and over again, and not one piece came out.  My next goal is to stop myself from repeating this test every single day.

This weekend is Thanksgiving in Canada and as always, I do have a lot to be grateful for.  Mostly I’m grateful for my family and friends.  I am also grateful to be learning a couple of important life lessons through this blog.  That memories can be captured in ways that don’t require physical proof and that throwing away a few papers isn’t going to diminish my good (or bad) memories.  It’s just going to create more space which will ultimately relieve stress and allow me to focus on the here and now.  If you aren’t living in the past, which I never do anyway, stop hanging onto things that aren’t even important reminders of it…those little words of wisdom exhausted me, so until tomorrow, I remain…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

