The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Movin’ On Up

Leave a comment

I’m relocating desks this week – from the 7th floor to the 11th floor.  I’m happy that it’s 7/11 – just like the store…only different.  Like most people, moving desks can be a bit of a trial, especially when it’s ridiculously busy at work.  As mentioned, it’s back to living to work, instead of working to live.  I realized this week that part of the problem is really the number of meetings that I go to each and every day.  Tomorrow, I have 8 starting at 9am.  Yes, 8 and I have to try to get some work done in between.  Not that I’m complaining.  Ok – I am a little.

So what’s the upside of the busy week (weeks really) that I’ve been having?  I’ve taken my decluttering project on the road and as I’ve been packing boxes, I’ve been streamlining my work belongings, much like I’ve done with my closets at home.  So far, I’ve ridded myself of:

  • one pair of shoes that I leave at the office – it was time
  • 5 small recycling bins filled with files
  • Several magazines
  • Unlimited amounts of paper
  • Several posters (we give them out to agencies)
  • 3 notebooks filled with scribbles that I no longer refer to
  • Extreme Makeover Home Edition Keychains (again, agency giveaways).  The show has been off the air for years – what was I keeping them for?
  • An outdated free face cream that I never got around to taking home
  • A really ugly lunch bag that feels like diapers

I still have a two small drawers and one big box left, but it has been very cleansing.  I even threw out a few more things as I unpacked my boxes.  It’s really hard to count out the number of items, but lets just say, it would fill a big blue box of recycling.  It may have taken a forced move, but another area of my life is getting organized.  This is one of the best of my little Oz projects.  It’s really helped me evaluate and let go of things that once seemed important.

I won’t miss anything that I just threw out, but I will miss my little desk – I spent countless hours there.  As I packed today, I pondered the important questions that have been plaguing me – who am I?  Well, it’s on my name plate – Jill Schneiderman.  Where am I going in life?  I guess to my new floor.  Where do I belong?  See previous answer.  How did I get here?  On the subway – with the annoying humming passenger in the morning and the annoyingly loud women on the way back.    And here is the BIGGIE – why in the heck do I have 9 pairs of shoes at work?  SERIOUSLY –  I hardly put them on.  What a waste of space – they are staying there, but still…Tune in tomorrow for more of my deep thoughts…and I’ll still be…

Gratefully yours (especially since my eye didn’t twitch once today),

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

