The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

What’s Wrong With This Picture?

Leave a comment

kim-kardashian-north-west

Image courtesy of newyorkdailynews.com

I felt sorry for Kim Kardashian when she was pregnant.  I really did – people were horrible to her.  She gained weight, but hello!  she was with child.  You can’t pick on her for gaining weight, and if you looked at her swollen feet, all the mean girls would get that a lot of it was water weight.  I’d never make fun of her for that, but her fashion choices are fair game and at best, they are questionable.  I think that Riccardo Tisci from Givenchy is having a good laugh at her expense – seriously.  he’s thinking about the profit he makes on the skimpy clothes that he sells her for ridiculous prices.  Shove a piece of lace over a pair of underwear and you’ve got yourself couture Kimmie.  What’s really wrong with this picture, though, is the expression on her beautiful daughter’s little face.  The poor kid is wearing a very grown up little outfit that is probably really uncomfortable and really, it’s every little girl’s right and obligation to wear a frilly pink dress.  It was my favourite thing to wear when I was little.  I seriously don’t have a problem with Kim Kardashian.  What I do have an issue is that she is trying to be something that she’s not.  She used to be a fun, smiley girl.  Now that she is Mrs. “Yee-zus” West, she  takes her self a little too seriously.

According to my very genuine mentor, Dr. Oz’s website, Sharecare, here are some universal positive values that are respected by all: Honesty, Loyalty, Integrity, Sincerity, Humility, Enthusiasm, Dedication, Dependability, A sense of humour Open-mindedness.  Being genuine and true to yourself should also be in the list, and I think Ms. KKW’s problem is she lacks most of these really important qualities and she’s passing that down to her daughter.  Poor thing – I’ve never seen a picture of her smile.  I’d be a little grumpy is I had Kanye’s genes in me too – what kind of man checks to see why a guy in a wheelchair doesn’t even try to get up at this genius’s show?  Her father is not necessarily disingenuous, but he certainly isn’t going to win any sensitivity awards.

It does make you think though about whether we (that’s the royal we) embody most or all of those traits.  I’m not going to tell you if I do or don’t (ok – I pretty comfortable in the fact that I do – and frankly, the most important people in my life also embody these), but why not think about whether you do.  Maybe the people that we should admire aren’t the celebrities and public figures that we perhaps have too much regard for.  Maybe it’s the people closer to home that we should be spending more of our time on and with.  That’s me using Kimye to be deep.

Today, I am once again grateful that everything that I ever needed to know in life, I could learn from the Kardashian’s.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

