The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

I Was Thinking…

Leave a comment

015

…which is why I look so scared in the picture : )  BTW – my nose looks HUGE – please remember that objects in photos aren’t always as large as they appear.  I know that the camera adds ten pounds, but did it all have to go to my schnoz?  I digress, this is where I’m going to start getting deep.

I was reading some blogs that were fabulous and inspiring and some that question whether they even have the right to call themselves bloggers.  Um…you write several times a week, on a dedicated page that’s all about you – what do you think you are?  I am not deep enough to question such things or even to try to inspire you, my readers.  I’m the youngest in my family, and if I’ve learned one thing through the years…wait for this…it’s a really important lesson…IT’S ALL ABOUT ME!!!!  I have a feeling that my two sisters would agree.  I LOVE being the baby of the family.  I love being doted on to this day by my Mommy and two big sisters.  I love the way that they worry about me.  I love the way that they take care of me.  I love the way that they laugh at all of my hilarious jokes.  I love…oh no – I started writing fiction!  Although some may disagree, I’m not the coddled youngest.  What I do think that I have going for me is that I know myself and I don’t try to be what I’m not.  If I entertain you, I’m thrilled.  I’m beyond grateful for every like and follow.  I also get humbled when I read some of my followers blogs.  They are the ones you should be going to to be inspired.  They face challenges far greater than mine (probably with a better attitude as well).

I was disappointed in myself this month for not being able to exercise as physically and mentally as I would have liked.  Physically, in addition to the ridiculously annoying plantar fasciitis in my right foot, my left foot was aching all month.  While I was beating myself up, I forgot about the fact that I still went to my trainer every week and I still walked as much as humanly possible.  Mentally, I get a workout at my job, but Monday – Friday, I do crossword puzzles from our free daily newspaper on the subway ride to work.  According to Dr. Oz (from doctoroz.com), they work both the visual and language areas of your brain while combining decision-making and motor coordination.  They can also help prevent diseases like dementia later in life (again, according to the good doctor).   He has a pretty interesting little exercise as well – it looks easy, but the mind can play tricks on you.  Click here Exercise Your Mind to test it out.

After all that’s happened this month, I’m grateful to move onto October and for “The Mindy Project” – the funniest show on TV.  There are so many things that I want to write about, so I’m going to keep the theme for the month simple, yet pretentious, like my good friend Gwyneth Paltrow (remember her?). It will be “Un Peu De Tou” – a little of everything for you non-French speaking peasants.  I say that with love…and as always, I remain…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

