The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Never Can Say Goodbye – Except to These Things

Leave a comment

P1020383

Bye Bye shoes and other assorted goodies…

It’s never easy to say goodbye to a beloved friend or family member, but letting go of things is surprisingly easy for me.  I’ve kept a promise to myself to get rid of clothing every weekend with the goal of being finished by the end of this month and I’m almost there.

P1020382

Time to toss these items…

Here is my tally from the last two weeks:

Donating

  • 2 pairs of pants
  • 1 bathing suit
  • 1 bathing suit cover up
  • 1 skort (not a typo – a fabulous combination of the best of both worlds for skirt loving short wearers)
  • 3 tops
  • 3 coats
  • 1 scarf
  • 6 purses (not a typo either)
  • TOTAL = 18 items!!!
P1020386

Part 1 of the donation pile – I should have donated the Tigger purse a long time ago. I’ll miss it, of course, but maybe it’s time to make a toddler happy.

P1020385

I hope that these coats help keep someone warm this fall!

Tossing

  • 1 top
  • 1 t-shirt
  • 2 sports bras (I know – TMI)
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 1 baseball hat
  • 1 watch box
  • 1 egg cup
  • 1 camera case
  • 1 dreidel
  • TOTAL – 10 items
  • GRAND TOTAL – 28 more items out of my place
P1020387

Time to toss…

You may have noticed some knick knacks creeping their way in…as I come across these items, I take a look and see if they make the cut.  Some of the items including the baseball cap are associated with fond memories.  I’ll always have the memory, but I no longer need tangible proof of it.  I never look at these items, so why keep them?  Yes, the Easter dinner that I was invited to many years ago was a lovely memory, but an egg cup isn’t needed to remind me of it.  Dr. Oz and his colleagues are right – decluttering your physical space is emotionally healthy.  There are, for sure, sentimental items that I will keep, but that’s because they are associated with a particular person or milestone, not just a distant memory.

If you have coats, particularly winter coats, now is a great time to donate them.  Many people can’t afford cold weather protection and would greatly appreciate your cast offs.  This brings me back to my usual moment of gratitude.  Today, I am grateful that I have the means to buy a winter coat when many other can’t afford one.

I’m back to being…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

