The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Ingratitude

2 Comments

Oz

For those of you that read my blog regularly, you know I try to end on a note of gratitude.  Dr. Oz likes us to be grateful saying that it’s good for your health.  I’ve seen quite a few “Five Days of Gratitude Challenges” on Facebook – it’s nice to see people think of all of the positives in their lives.  It’s uplifting, it’s wonderful, it’s…nauseating.  I’m having one of those months where the stars just don’t seem to be aligned, so I thought, why not embrace it and write down 25 things that I’m not grateful for.  I’d rather vent and call it like I see it, than try to be so FREAKING grateful for the fact that I’m living.  Yes, everyone is entitled to a day or two when they get to be a Debbie Downer and today’s the day for me.  Here are the first ten items on my list (more tomorrow):

  1. I’m not grateful that Joan Rivers is dead and that the idiot doctor took a selfie with her in the operating room.  She was the funniest person ever, and she had a lot of life left to live, and that, along with the dignity that she’s entitled to as a patient were taken away from her.
  2. I’m not grateful that Rob Ford has cancer, mostly because I feel too guilty to laugh at him anymore.
  3. I’m not grateful for fall.  Face it little Mary Sunshines, it doesn’t mean crisp beautiful days, it means it’s a short passage to bare trees and blustery winds.  Give me summer any day.
  4. I’m not grateful for the NFL regulations that cost me a Longchamp bag last fall (it didn’t meet their measurement requirements).  You may have taken my purse, BUT, you didn’t get to take my dignity.  Hey Steelers fans, I was going for the Baltimore Ravens anyway (not that I know anything about football). Is it wrong that I’m still holding a grudge?
  5. I’m not grateful that I forgot to watch my favourite show, “The Mindy Project” last night.  It was the season premiere and it’s the best half hour on TV!!!!  Please watch the show – I’ll be totally ungrateful if it gets cancelled.
  6. I’m not grateful for the homeless man who was totally ungrateful himself.  I left work this evening after a very long day.  A man stopped me saying that he needed a meal.  I was feeling weak, so I said, can I buy you a hot dog (it was right next to us).  He said he wanted healthy staples – ok, well, I like to eat the Dr. Oz way when I can too, so I fished a toonie (a two dollar coin) out of my wallet.  He looked at me in disgust and said, I need at least $4.50.  I said this isn’t a negotiation and I needed the money for parking.  Not only did my good deed go unpunished, but a homeless man made me feel like a cheapskate, made me lie and told me how much money to give him.  I know Pollyana, I’m lucky to have a job and the means to give away money.  Today, I didn’t feel like being grateful.
  7. I’m not grateful for Twitter.  It’s where you put something out there hoping that anyone, anywhere will answer you.  It’s kind of dumb, but you can follow me @jillschnei anyway : )
  8. I’m not grateful when I lose a Twitter follower – it’s like a tiny death every time I lose one, even though I have no clue who most of my followers are.
  9. I’m not grateful for people who bring their breakfast sandwiches or scrambled eggs on the elevator at work in the morning.  The smell nauseates me and it doesn’t make for a great start to the day.
  10. I’m not grateful for early morning meetings or calls – they suck.  Yes, I know, be grateful that I have a job.  I’ll get right on that when my alarm goes off at 5:40 tomorrow morning.

Today, I’m grateful that you read this list – and I’m hoping that you’ll tell me a few things that you aren’t grateful for!

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “Ingratitude

  1. I can only be grateful as it was only a mater of time….Im grateful i bought the watch..and the blazer…and the broach…and the scarf….and…well…lets just say Im grateful….AND…..Im grateful…October 27……you are a softy underneath at all. Oh…and Im also grateful i bought the purse….but not grateful you not listening to me…..btw….love u 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

