The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

I’ve Avoided It Long Enough…

3 Comments

P1020175

Hiking to a glacier in Norway.

I have a love hate relationship with exercise.  Some of it, I love!  I also love the way that I feel after I finish.  I HATE the guilt that I feel when I don’t want to exercise, having to get there and even thinking about it.  I tried to avoid writing about physical activity, alas, it’s part of the theme for this month.  I’ve avoided it long enough.

I am one of those annoying people that will try anything once unless I’m so totally freaked out by it that the stress on my heart would be too much for me to take.  Basically, we’ll say anything having to do with getting on a bike is not going to happen for me (unless it doesn’t move) or anything else where the threat of injury is too great.  Here’s a quick peak at just a few things I’ve tried and my yay or nay to them:

  • Indoor Rock Climbing – Nay.  It smelled like the inside of a jock strap (don’t ask me how I know this) and I got stuck in a group where one of the girls kept crying that she was scared, so she got the easier part of the wall.  My friend and I were put on a more advanced wall even though we were newbies too.  I was too short to reach most of the rocks and it just wasn’t the most fun thing I’ve ever done.  I may try it one more time, but I’d really need to be persuaded.
  • Kangoo – Yay and Nay.  If you haven’t heard of Kangoo, it’s a high-energy, interval work out.  You get to wear these fabulous boots with “bouncers” on the bottom.  You jump through an entire work out to really fun music.  You get very dew-y (my lady-like way of saying you sweat like a beast) and it’s a lot of fun.  It does, however, take a lot of practice and it was really hard for me to master.
  • Zumba – YAY!!! – I love Zumba.  It’s a really fun workout.  If you love to dance, you’ll love Zumba.  You get very dew-y, but you feel great after.  If you ever do decide to try it, you are constantly moving and it does require some form of coordination.  The first time I tried it, I never thought I’d get the hang of it, but I did it regularly for a year, and after about three sessions, I felt like I could follow along.  The place I went to closed, and I have been looking for the better part of a year and a half for a place that’s close to me.  I’ve finally found it so I may take it up again.  WARNING – the “warm up” isn’t a gentle way to ease you into the class – it’s more like “on your mark…get set…and go”.  Find a place with air conditioning.  I tried it again just a few weeks ago, and as much fun as it was, the lack of air conditioning was unbearable, and I’m a person who is almost always cold.
  • Spinning – Yay and Nay.  I like it but am not in love with it.  The pain in my tush was a bit unbearable and I had pins and needles in places that shouldn’t have them.  I’ve done it twice in my life, and would do it again…with some encouragement.
  • Hiking – Yay and Nay.  I thought I hated hiking.  After my daily 5 mile hike at the Biggest Loser Resort in Malibu, I thought I’d never willingly try it in the history of my life.  OOOPS I Did it Again in Norway and I LOVED it.  I also think I secretly liked it in Malibu too…but I can’t see doing it in Toronto.  It’s something I’ll do on holidays when I can see things like glaciers, whales, amazing vistas…
  • 237

    I hiked up this hill after an hour of walking on the beach – it was painful, but really gorgeous.

    I’ve saved the very best for last.  I’ve always loved dance and have belly danced for 10 years.  It’s a huge YAY for me and as soon as my foot heals, I’m looking for a class.  If you’ve never tried it – it’s fun and therapeutic.  It’s the one workout/hobby that I’ve ever done where I could actually turn my brain off and just focus on what I was doing in the moment.  I miss it.

According to Dr. Oz’s partner in the “You” books and Sharecare, Dr. Michael Roizen, the optimal amount of cardio is 30 minutes of walking daily and 60 minutes of sweating per week (a high intensity work out).  I definitely walk at least 30 minutes    a day, but I do need to start doing more intense cardio again – both for my physical health and to de-stress.  I’m getting into the habit of living to work again, and I need to find a way and reason to leave at a reasonable time at least twice a week.  I already go to a trainer once a week – I need to make an appointment with myself to leave another day a week and get on the Oz approved elliptical.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

Today, I’m grateful for knowing how to take a day for me when I need to.  It took me years to figure out that I need this every once in awhile.

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

3 thoughts on “I’ve Avoided It Long Enough…

  1. And yet an exercise as simple as walking can have profound effect on the body in a positive way. It creates serotonin from within the gut. I’m not a doctor, but I was told this by qualified health professionals. Also drinking water first thing upon rising works miracles for the body. Eat as normal, only 45mins-1hr after enough water intake. (4x160ml) I also learnt that for the rest of the day, water should be drunk only 2hrs after eating meals.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting. You are right, walking is a great form of exercise, and Dr. Oz and his writing partner recommend 30 minutes a day of it at a normal pace and 1 hour of additional cardio per week (weight training is separate) on top of that. Like many people, I get bored of just one activity so I just wanted to give people a snap shot of what I’ve tried.

      Like

Leave a Reply

