The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Revisiting My Cupboard – Part 2

2 Comments

declutter4

 

Another week, another cupboard to clean out.  Today, in between getting ready to go out and coming home, I’ve prepared another donation bag in my quest to declutter my life and transform my health.  If Dr. Oz is wrong about the health benefits of paring down my goods (sounds so retail when I say that)…I’ll be one upset blogger.  I do think he is on to something though.  I think that it’s good for me to do this project for a variety of reasons:

  • It’s therapeutic to do something repetitive and mindless.  
  • It’s giving me a chance to see what I really need to buy for the fall.  I think I got into a rut of buying “basics”.  You can always use an extra black cardigan – right?  Wrong…I have 6 – but that’s not counting the multitude of colours and styles of cardigans that I have.  I have some nice things and more basics than I really need.  It’s time to find a few things that I really love in limited quantities of course
  • The emotional part (or what should be emotional) is that it’s forcing me to get rid of things that I’ve been hanging on to.  The fact is that I’m not going to miss any of these items and once they leave my house, I’ll never think of them again.  I guess that makes me fickle or cold?
  • One person’s trash is somebody else’s treasure.  I purge annually, so this isn’t a new thing for me.  What is new, is how ruthless I am being.  Every item is being considered and things that used to mindlessly make the cut, are now on their way to somebody else’s closet.  I was at a party this weekend, and I bumped into someone that I was thrilled to see.  What made me even happier, was to see her wearing one of my old tops.  I loved that top, but she loved it more, so 6 years ago, I gave it to her along with a few other items.  Usually, I give my clothes to charity, but she asked, to go through my bag, and it’s nice to see something that I used to like wearing make somebody else so happy.

So what’s the tally this week?  Here you go voyeurs:

Garbage

1 sweater (very pill-y)

1 pair of jeans

2 items in total

Donate

1 blouse

1 purse

10 sweaters

12 items in total

Total for the week – 14 items + 1 smelly lipstick that should have made the cut three weeks ago. It STINKS and it was brown.  I was wearing a brown outfit so thought I’d go all matchy-matchy.  It looked like I had dirt on my lips – not a good look for anyone.  It’s now exactly where it belongs – in the trash.  My overall clothing total for the past two weeks is 43 items out of the closet and I still have more to go.  Really, life can’t get any better than this!

Today, I am eternally grateful that I had the ability to let go of a smelly lipstick and the wisdom to know that walking around looking like you just ate a mud-pie is never a good look for anyone.  I’m also grateful that I’ll have the chance to share more wisdom that I learned from the Kardashian’s with you this week so stay tuned!

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “Revisiting My Cupboard – Part 2

  1. I seem to collect cardigans too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

