The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Trash or Treasure – The Decluttering Continues

2 Comments

I don’t know about you, but following Dr. Oz’s advice can be a make work project.  Yesterday, I wasn’t meeting my friend until 8:30, so that gave me an entire day, and no excuse, to not spend a few hours decluttering.  Again, my goal is to have everything that I own or operate decluttered by December 31st – no ifs, ands or buts.  That doesn’t mean that I can’t finish early and my competitive nature makes me want to finish early. This weekend’s project was to complete 2 sets of clothing cupboards in my pursuit of decluttering my life to transform my health.  I have to admit, it was therapeutic, idle hands being the devil’s playthings and all : )  Truthfully, though, I actually enjoyed going through my things.  One of the rules that the experts on Dr. Oz said that you should get rid of anything that you haven’t used in a year.  I have a different philosophy when it comes to clothes though.  It’s more the “Oh seriously, I love that top – I should really wear it more often.”  I forgot some of what I own, found some old favourites and made a vow to shop my closet more.  That didn’t mean that everything got a pass though.  Au (and oh) contraire!   I did take some advice, and created a keep, toss and donate pile for my clothes.  The cupboards held my workout clothes and all of my summer tops.  It took about 3 hours, but they were emptied, sorted, tossed, packed up (for donation) or folded and arranged by type and colour back in the cupboard (the Type A in me likes my things a certain way).

Here is a tally of what was tossed:

-2 hoodies

-4 tops

-2 exercise pants

-1 pair of dress pants

-1 skirt

-1 pair of track pants

Total – 11 pieces of clothing

The proof is in the picture (not pudding, I don’t eat in my room – it grosses me out).

clothes trash

 Now for the donation pile – I’m giving away:

-3 casual shirts

-12 tops

-2 sweaters

-and a partridge in a pear tree (just a little joke to see if you were paying attention)

Total – 17 pieces of clothing

Declutter 2

Altogether, 28 pieces of clothing are leaving my closets forever.  Number of items that I’ll truly miss – 1 – a top that I loved with a giant hole in it,  I won’t be tempted to wear it, because there is no need to look like moths have invaded my home.   I’ll keep you posted on my progress every week.  Meanwhile, tomorrow, it’s back to reporting on the sheep that I’m supposed to be counting.  

Just a little note on gratitude.  Today, I’m grateful that I had a productive weekend.  Boring, I know, but there was some fun mixed in.  Sometimes, working on an achievable goal is worth  being grateful for.  I’d love to hear what some of your goals are for the rest of 2014 – just let me know and for that, I’ll be… 

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “Trash or Treasure – The Decluttering Continues

  1. Good job!! I did that earlier in the summer too and now have a much neater closet…ready to bring in the new. 🙂 More importantly, I made my four daughters do the same decluttering activity…wow! The yield was quite large.

    Another decluttering activity I enjoy is unsubscribing from unwanted email lists. I order a lot online at Christmas and end up receiving loads of messages from retailers. Usually, I just hit delete, but in the summer I take the time to unsubscribe. It is wonderful!

    Happy decluttering!! 🙂

    Like

  2. That is a great idea! I’m trying to tackle the physical decluttering first, but there are so many email lists that I can unsubscribe from. When I’m ready to work on my cyber decluttering, that’s the first thing I’ll do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

