The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Yes…I’m Going There

2 Comments

robin

 

Image courtesy of idolol.com – quote Robin William.

Today, I’m starting with the negative and moving back to the positive.  I didn’t want to write a post about Robin Williams on the day that he died, in fact, I debated whether it was in good taste to write about it at all.  I hate being a band wagon jumper and I also didn’t want to exploit a tragedy.  I, like many people, was a fan of his.  “Mork and Mindy” was one of my favourite shows when I was growing up (Laverne and Shirley and Gilligan’s Island were also tops).  I always had a soft spot for Robin Williams.  As I grew up, I loved him in movies like “Aladdin”, “Good Will Hunting”, “The Fisher King” and “Dead Poet’s Society”.  I was not a fan of his stand up specials – they were a little too vulgar for my lady-like ears, but watching him on talk shows was amazing.  Like many people, he suffered from depression.  The saddest thing to me about this whole thing, is that a man who was laughing on the outside, was so desperately sad on the inside.  Dr. Oz posted the following on Facebook:

“The tragic death of Robin Williams has opened up a very necessary dialogue about depression. It’s important to remember that depression is not a mindset or attitude; it is a serious disorder, and like any other, it must be properly treated. If you or someone you know is struggling with this, know that there is always help available. I’ve added some resources here:

Info on Mental Health Professionals: http://bit.ly/1kEbZAR
Suicide Prevention Hotline: 1-800-273-TALK (8255) or visithttp://bit.ly/1lYmABO“.  

Well said Dr. Oz!

I’ve written about depression before – https://jillschnei.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/moody-blues/.  My views haven’t changed since February.  Depression is a disease and people can’t “just get over it”.  We need to be more understanding of it.  We need to be more accepting of it.  We need to help take the stigma away so that people can openly talk about it.  The very people who mock it, probably suffer from it or another type of mental illness.  Did you hear about how Robin Williams’ daughter was bullied on Twitter?  The only person who would do that to someone, in their time of grief, is someone who is very sick.  The fact that someone killed themselves isn’t a joke, it’s a tragedy, but it’s also an opportunity to think about what we can do to potentially help another person who may be suffering.

Today, I’m grateful for many things.  I’ m grateful that I got to see my niece yesterday – that’s always a treat for me.  I’m grateful that today was a better day than yesterday.  I’m grateful that, for the most part, I am happy and even if it takes me time, I can eventually see that the glass is half full.  I’m grateful that I got to indulge in some retail therapy with a friend today.  I’m grateful that one of my dearest friends in the world knows me so well, and always knows the right thing to say and do.  I’m grateful to you all for reading and I’ll continue to be…

Gratefully yours,
Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “Yes…I’m Going There

  1. Thanks for sharing. If there is one thing I have noticed since the passing of Robin Williams is that I’m finding out that a lot of my friends, as I, battle depression and most I didn’t know about as they didn’t know about my own battle. We have vowed to check in on each other more often and just “coming-out” has helped us all I think. Getting rid of the stigma surrounding mental illness/disorders is definitely something we all have to work on.

    Like

    • That is wonderful Toni! I’m glad that something good came out of such a tragedy. I wrote in a past blog that 15% of people are said to have depression. I think that the number is likely much higher, but people are afraid to talk about it. Thank you for commenting on this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

