The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

To Clutter is Human – To De-Clutter is Divine

4 Comments

Grimace

 

This whole month is about re-evaluation of my year of living the Dr. Oz way.  It doesn’t just mean that I’m going to revisit everything that I have done to date, but I have to revisit everything down to my belongings both in my home, office and yes, even in cyber-space.  So why the picture of Grimace?  It’s not just shades of blog entries past, it’s something that I have to remove from my hard drive.  I realized that I don’t need to “hoard” Grimace anymore.  If I need him again, I can find him right where I found him before – Google!  Until then, he needs to be deleted.

Everyone has clutter.  I don’t care how organized you are – we all get attached to different things or hang on to things long past when we should.  I thought of decluttering today when I FINALLY threw out a lipstick that I’ve been hanging onto for an embarrassing number of years.  That’s right, years.  Never mind that I have two other lipsticks almost identical in colour…never mind that it had that gross, past its prime lipstick smell…never mind that I rarely wear it (probably because it stinks).  I was going to use that sucker until it was finished.  Today, as I reached to put it on for the first time in a year, I said, “What are you?  An idiot?  Do you want your lips to stink?  Put on a nice, fresh lipstick and toss this.”  I listened to my inner voice, and now that lipstick is exactly where it belongs.  In a landfill somewhere.  Just joking environmentalists.  Seriously, it got me thinking about what else I am hanging onto, and it made me realize that I need to purge – weekly – everything from my clothing, to my make up to my email and social media accounts.  OK, and, a few photos from my Greek sister from another mister helped inspire me.  She is in the process of decluttering too.

Today, I purged my Twitter account.  I hate Twitter, but for now, it’s a necessary evil.  I don’t need to follow so many different people, places and things, so today, I un-followed a whopping 30 accounts.  You stopped following me, well, I stopped following you.  I don’t remember why I followed you in the first place, well, bye-bye.  I know it doesn’t sound like a lot, but it’s a start.  I can’t touch facebook – who wants the nasty note – “Why did you un-friend me?” I can, however, spend a little time on my Yahoo, Hotmail and Gmail accounts (yes, I need all of them) and delete some emails there too.  Cyber clutter is just as taxing.

According to an April episode of The Dr. Oz Show, if you declutter your life, you can transform your health.  Plus, if you are physically cluttered, you are emotionally cluttered.  Since this year is all about my health, it’s time for me to say out with the old.  The expert in the show said to do this slowly – so I will.  It’s not a race.  My goal, though, is by the end of this year, to have my physical space at home, in the office and yes, even in cyber-space free of the things that I no longer need.  Check out the video from the show to find out more http://www.doctoroz.com/episode/new-rules-declutter-your-life-and-transform-your-health?video_id=3449815213001

Today, I am grateful that I chose to blog instead of watching “Dating Naked”.  I’ve admitted to you before that I’m the lowest common denominator when it comes to TV.  It was a hard-fought battle, but I chose quality over the ridiculous.  In fact, I don’t think I’ll ever watch it.  Thanks to you, my standards are improving.  Until next time, I remain,

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

4 thoughts on “To Clutter is Human – To De-Clutter is Divine

  1. Hey, no worries Jilly….I watche Dating Naked so I’ll tell you what you missed. Talk later…off to delete some FB now 🙂

    Like

  2. You are supposed to inspire me, not encourage my trashy TV habits.

    Like

  3. I love decluttering! Every summer this is something I look forward to doing when I’m on break from teaching. I find it very rewarding. 🙂 Dating Naked…never heard of it, but I WILL be checking it out! 🙂

    Like

    • Decluttering really is therapeutic! I finally watched it, and it was terrible. A train wreck but terrible. I think it was a one time viewing for me but worth checking out to see what everyone was talking about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

