The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Mosquito Magnet

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of camptimberlane.ca

I love the summer – it’s my favourite time of year!  Warm weather – Yipppeeee!!!!  Sunshine almost every day – YIPPEEEE.  Not having to wear a coat HOOORRAAYYY!!!!  Mosquitoes out in full force – Ya…seriously?  I am a mosquito magnet.  One time, after going to a friend’s cottage, I had 41 bites on my legs.  How did I know this?  I was so itchy, that I couldn’t sleep so I counted them.  Another time, my friend and I had a glorious day in Little Rock, Arkansas visiting the Bill Clinton library – LOVE the man!  Anyway, guess what happened?  No – I didn’t get a bee sting – that’s close, but no cigar (a little Monica Lewinsky humour)…you got it – I was out of the rented car at a truck stop and was promptly bitten by a blood thirsty skeeter.  Thank heavens for mint toothpaste.  if you are prone to bug bites like me, it is a miracle worker at getting the itch out.

Last weekend, I went to my cousin’s wedding at a camp near Haliburton (cottage country about 3 hours from Toronto).  As much as I enjoyed the joyous celebration, immediately I was on high alert after seeing bugs the size of birds flitting about.  I am a ‘fraidy cat when it comes to bugs you see.  I know you are going to sneer at me when I tell you what I did to prevent being eaten alive…I doused myself with Off Active (3 applications – love me some deet) and I even had a clip on Off to be doubly sure that the only things dining around me were my fellow wedding guests.  I came home with nary a bite to be seen.  I love the city – country outings make me a bit of a nervous-wreck.  I am about to go on a trip shortly to Iceland, the Faroe Islands (midway between Iceland and Norway) and the Norwegian Fjords.  What does this nature fearer decide to do?  Go on a hike.  Guess where you hike?  In nature!!!! I’m going to be extra vigilant to ensure that I am once again bite-less.  I checked on doctoroz.com for some tips and here are some suggestions if you are like me and a skeeter’s dinner:

  • Cover your exposed arms and legs with long-sleeved shirts and pants.  (Not always possible, but you better believe if I’m hiking, I’m going to cover up)
  • Use a good fan to reduce the likelihood of pesky mosquitoes from landing on prime biting surfaces … you! (I’d feel pretentious carrying a fan around, so thanks Dr. Oz, but this tip is a no go)
  • Keep windows closed with air-conditioning on to keep them out.(Um…hello…I’m trying to protect myself from the great outdoors)
  • Make sure your screens on windows and doors are in good shape. (Good one…if you are indoors)
  • Consider wearing mosquito-resistant clothing that may contain chemical repellents. (Ugly – no thanks)
  • Try to eliminate standing water that can be a breeding ground for mosquitoes. (Cleaning up standing water in Norway is not on my agenda for my holiday)
  • Use an appropriate insect repellent (chemicals such as DEET, pyrethrum) as well as natural botanical oils, such as oil of lemon eucalyptus.  Always follow instructions on the label, especially for children, and apply in a well-ventilated area.  (Yes, I’ll be bringing Off with me – I can use this one)
  • Avoid being outside at prime biting times such as dawn and dusk. (I’m lazy and am doing the hike at 9:30am so I’m good with this one)
  • Take a shower; body odor can be an attractant to mosquitoes. (I shower at least once a day, so I’m covered)

Well – this really didn’t teach me anything that I didn’t already know, but at least Oz didn’t tell me not to use Off.  

Today, I am grateful that as of July 4th, I will be on a two week cyber-break.  I love all of my faithful readers, but this blogger needs some r&r – mosquito free, of course.  Until next time, I am…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

