The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Don’t Hate the Whiz-ard, Hate the Game

1 Comment

ImageO

Image courtesy of hlntv.com

I wish that I didn’t have to interrupt my fun summer topic to write about something more serious, but I would be a bad Oz blogger if I didn’t comment on the recent scolding of Dr. Oz at a meeting of the US Senate’s Consumer Protection Panel.  More specifically, he was called out on some of the weight loss aids that he showcases from time to time on “The Dr. Oz Show.”  Oz, himself, admits that his language when speaking about these aids can be “flowery”.  He also promised to include a list of supplements that he honestly believes works on his website.  He says that he believes in the supplements that he talks about and even gets his family to try them but was fairly contrite by the end of the hearing.  If you look at his appearance during the panel, he looks over-tired and stressed and maybe a little in need of his own advice.

So what do I think?  I think that as a physician, Dr. Oz has a responsibility to do no harm to his patients.  Unfortunately, through TV, print and his website, his patients are now not just in his examining room – they come to him from living rooms all around the world and he now has become the people’s doctor.  I understand, from my years of working in TV, that he probably heard about many of these weight loss aids from segment producers who thought it would be good TV – a quick bang for the viewer’s buck with the ultimate goal of getting people to watch the show and let the content get you hooked into become a regular viewer.  We all love a quick fix and this is what gets people interested in the show.  The reality is, if you do a lot of reading, from Dr. Oz himself, and many of the experts on his show, there is no quick fix.  Take a look at this video about the latest and greatest in weight-loss, Garcinia Cambogia, http://www.doctoroz.com/video-series/supplement-score-card?video_id=3302688594001

Pretty interesting isn’t it?  Bryce Wylde isn’t fully supporting the supplement even though it enjoyed some positive feedback on the show.  What does this say to the audience?  It says DO YOUR HOMEWORK!  If something sounds too good to be true, it probably is.  Don’t just depend on Dr. Oz to be your one and only source of information.  Consult with your doctor.  Double check information on the web.  Be your own health care advocate.  I can tell you from experience that Dr. Oz has a lot of really great information available and it has made a positive impact on how I feel.  He also has some information that I completely disagree with including making coconut oil a daily part of your diet.  For my thoughts – check here https://jillschnei.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/cuckoo-for-coconut-oil-no-way/.  If you don’t feel like re-reading it – I can tell you, I gave Dr. Oz a big shame on you (as well as some naturopaths) for ever promoting this as something remotely healthy for you.  

Am I going to give up on Dr. Oz’s advice?  No – there is a lot of good there – I’ve been reading a lot of what he puts out there.  You have to know how to sift through the sensational though to get to the practical. There is a lot of worthwhile information out there – you just have to get over the desire for things to work overnight, because they won’t.  You also have to consider a couple of things if you are going to what Dr. Oz says to heart.  He is a a cardiothoracic surgeon – he had amazing knowledge in this field.  He is not a registered dietician.  He also doesn’t have a weight problem, so many of the supplements that he touts, he has never had to take. You have to take what he says with a grain of salt and cross reference it to see if there is any medical efficacy to what he is talking about.  Without scientific evidence and my doctor’s approval, I wouldn’t try any of these health care supplements.

 

 

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

One thought on “Don’t Hate the Whiz-ard, Hate the Game

  1. Pingback: Dr2App Enable Doctors Plan Food for Weight-loss Patients - Diet For Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

