The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Enjoying an Almost Summer Event!

Leave a comment

 

Image

 

I originally posted something similar to this last Friday and it was deleted!  It was likely a lot better than this version, but here we go…

Dr. Oz always speaks about the importance of family on all of his platforms, from his show, to facebook to You Being Beautiful. I fully agree, that family is so important.  One of the most important members of my family had a special event last week.  My baby niece graduated from college last week.  I was tickled, honoured, thrilled, excited and deeply touched that she wanted me to be there.  I know in her mind it was “just a graduation” but it is a rite of passage.  You worked hard to finish and you did!  You can always try harder, but that’s a lecture for another day.

Let’s face facts, when you attend a graduation, unless there are twins and triplets involved, it comes down to it, you really only care about that one little person walking across the stage.  As the graduates were led in to the strains of “Pomp and Circumstance”, I scanned the crowd for my niece and couldn’t see her.  My sister (her mother), her boyfriend and I made the decision while we were waiting to “WOOOOOO HOOOOOOO” as loudly as we could, both out of pride, and partly because there is almost nothing more fun in life than embarrassing my little niece and after all, everyone else was doing it.

Jess – you are taller than me (not by much), smarter than me (not by much), funnier than me (hugely), definitely cuter than me (by a mile and then some) – please let me have something – maybe your new purse – as a consolation prize?  In all seriousness (although I am serious about wanting your purse – look how great it looks with my outfit), I just want you to know how proud I am of you, and not just on special days like your graduation, every single day.  I hope that you know that wherever life takes you, that I am, have been and always will be your biggest fan.  You know that you have my support and…
…Love always,
Aunt xoxo
PS – You better not call me Jill ever again : )
PSS – to my readers, in case you haven’t guessed, I am grateful to have the best niece in the world.

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

