The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Summer and A Baby Rhino

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of hesc.co.za

A video with this adorable, heartbroken baby rhino has been circulating it’s way around the web this week – check out this link for more on the story – http://www.sooziq.com/11795/a-heartbroken-baby-rhino-was-found-crying-uncontrollably-and-there-are-no-words-for-the-end/?utm_content=buffer956c8&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer.  Watching this poor little thing’s need for comfort and companionship after it’s mother was slaughtered by evil, poachers put a huge lump in my throat.  It was like a Disney movie come to life.  Disney early on identified the hero in the story as the animal, while man was the villain.  People who support poaching either by hunting these majestic creatures for sport (former King of Spain hunting elephants angered me), or their horns/ivory, or even owners and users of these products are the villains to me anyway.  The biggest difference between an animal and a human is that animals most typically hunt to eat or to protect their family or home.  People hunt for those reasons, and I don’t have a real issue with that if it’s done ethically, but does anyone need ivory jewelry or carvings?  Does a man really need a rhino horn to make them more virile?  I think we all need to think at times on how we can live a life that is more ethical, both in terms of the products that we buy, to learning the proper place for litter is not the ocean and treating animals with the respect that they show others in their kingdom.

Rant over….for now.  Now what could a blog about the summer have to do with a rhino?  Well, if you don’t use sunscreen, that’s what your skin can end up looking like.  I won’t go on for too long, I mean we all know that sunscreen is a DAILY essential.  I am quite smug about the fact that I’ve been a major supporter of the sunscreen industry for years.  I wear it daily on my face – 365 days a year and on the rest of me as needed.  If I’m wearing jeans, I obviously don’t use it on my legs, but I wear it on any exposed skin.  I was reading Dr. Oz The Good Life, and they had a few things that I never thought about in their ageless beauty guide.  Did you know:

-You should look for two key ingredients when buying sunscreen – zinc oxide and avobenzone.  I did a check of my sunscreens and they both have them.  These ingredients block out UVA rays – the ones that cause again and skin cancer

-You should put sunscreen on 30 minutes before you leave the house – I do this as I’m getting ready so I’m ok with this one too

-Use enough to cover you – this means a golf ball sized amount if you are going to be out in the sun all day. YAY – I do this too and I am religious about reapplying

-Don’t use expired sunscreen if you have a choice.  If you don’t have anything else, it’s better than nothing, but the product starts degrading after the best before date

-I’m not going to comment on whether to use a high SPF or not – there are so many stories floating around.  I personally use an SPF 60 – I know that it may not do a lot more than a 30, but it makes me feel better.  I rarely, if ever get burns, but you have to be vigilant.

So in short, wear sunscreen – it’s easy to apply, some smell great and some are very absorbent.  Today, I’m grateful that I have been religious about wearing it for so many years.

Until next time, I am…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

