The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Dry As Bone or When to Wet Your Whistle

2 Comments

054

 

I really tried to drink eight glasses of water, but alas, in the interest of honesty, this weekend, it hasn’t happened.  I’m on my sixth for today.  I’ll keep trying…sigh…but it isn’t as easy as I thought.  I find it especially difficult Monday – Friday when I’m at work.  If I can make every other change and fix so many bad habits, I’m sure that this one should be pretty simple.  I  just feel like 8 glasses of water is an ocean, like the picture above.  I know, I know, #firstworldproblems.  I am committed to 8 is great – my code for drinking my recommended amount of H2O.  I even went out today and bought a 24… of water – what – you thought I meant beer?  Not likely.

So, in the last of my hydration series, I thought it would be a good idea to share the signs that you aren’t getting enough…water…perverts.  Here is what Dr. Oz says to look out for courtesy of his hydration handbook on doctoroz.com (my comments are in parenthesis):

  1. Dark Urine Your urine should be clear; if looks like tea when you go to the bathroom, you’re dehydrated. For more on healthy pee, click here.  (Luckily this is rare for me, and I drink immediately if I notice this)
  2. Dry Skin If your body is dehydrated, it will do everything it can to hold onto fluids. Your skin is the first place to be robbed of water. Major indicators of dehydration include skin that is less plump and flexible, sunken eyes, dark circles or dry lips. Assess your skin with a skin turgor test; pinch a fold of skin on top of your forearm. If this pinch and stays up in a tent, there is not enough water volume behind your skin.  (I did the test – it looks like like I have enough water volume – YAY!)
  3. Dizziness When your body is dehydrated, it is harder to distribute water. Dizziness can occur when you go from lying down to sitting or standing. The upright movement causes water to rush away from your heart and brain, which makes you dizzy. (There have been at least 3 or 4 times in my life when I was dehydrated enough to feel faint and only once was this due to heat.  It was periods when I was feeling stressed, not sleeping and drinking too much caffeine – so no, coffee and tea, at least to me, shouldn’t count as water.  Once I had something to drink, I felt better,  but it was a terrible feeling.  Do what Dr. Oz recommends and drink one water for every serving of coffee or tea that you have)
  4. Constipation Your body absorbs water from your intestines and draws moisture from your stool. This makes them hard, dry and difficult to pass. (No comment – if you’ve read my blog before, you know I think commenting about poop isn’t lady-like – just keep this in mind for you if you are noticing anything off with yours).

According to Dr. Oz, vegetables and fruit are important in keeping you hydrated, not just because of their high water content, but because they also may have sodium and potassium.  I eat tons of produce, especially lately.  I’ll just keep that up, especially over the summer.  I don’t know about you, but I think that this topic is turning into water under the bridge.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress but it’s on to something new tomorrow!

Today, I am grateful that a favourite cousin moved to Toronto over the weekend.  I’m sure I’ll be featuring her in this blog again – she’s really smart, and as a dietician, she has invaluable insight into a lot of the questions that come up from my research.  Plus, she’s a lot of fun.  Welcome to TO Gail and Kiwi : )

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “Dry As Bone or When to Wet Your Whistle

  1. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find
    a lot of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write related to here.
    Again, awesome weblog!

    Like

    • Hi – thanks so much! I’m so glad that you like it. I’d be open to content as long as it works and I can review before it’s posted to ensure that the content isn’t encouraging readers to buy or try something that could be harmful to them. I’d love to see what you were thinking of.

      Jill

      Like

Leave a Reply

