The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

I Don’t Want to Stress You Out…

Leave a comment

Image

YAY – this is tagged already so I don’t have to credit it!

Dr. Oz mentions that stress is a contributor to inflammation in your body and all sorts of nasty diseases.  It can impact your quality of life, cause insomnia and all sorts of other behaviours that generally don’t make us pleasant to be around.  Let’s face it, we all deal with some sort of stress on a daily basis.  It manifests itself differently in different people.  For me, I lose sleep, get headaches, irritable, nauseated, and feel an intense need to sit on my what will become of me couch to think about what will become of me.  The things that stress me out are illness in the family, work and my overall Type A perfectionism that I should try to get in check, but I have to many other things on my to do list to get to it.  I don’t know about you, but I really never appreciated how easy life was when I was a kid.  I miss those days.  Now, a day doesn’t go by when I don’t have to do something or be somewhere.  When I relax, I feel guilty, even though I need to at times.  We live in an age when everything is too immediate.  Technology makes our lives more convenient but it means we never turn ourselves off.  I am the proud owner of 4 phone numbers: home phone (that I’d love to get rid of), personal cell, work phone and work cell.  I have a blackberry and an iPad and 2 laptops (one for work and one for home).  I took a technology break on Saturday, because even I realize that this is a bit much.  OK – I didn’t turn on my laptop or iPad, but my blackberry was by my side the whole time – I need some connection to the outside world and I had to make plans for Saturday night.

I thought about something when I was taking a mini-break.  Are we truly connecting with people just because we are connected all of the time?  Even I find it strange when I find myself smiling at my cell phone because I’ve received a funny BBM from a friend or I vent to another about a bad day at the office.  I think that over time we have become more stressed because now we have no excuse to enjoy our lives thanks to Silicon Valley.  Just think about it for a second – a friend can’t reach you by phone or cell, so they text you.  You don’t answer, so they BBM you.  You don’t answer immediately so they try Facetime.  Still no response?  How about a little email, Twitter or Facebook?  If several hours go by, you get an angry text asking you what your problem is or a sad emoji wondering if your friendship is over all because your cell phone battery died or you just needed a little time to yourself.  We aren’t allowed that anymore because we have become an immediate gratification society.  We lose touch with one another because we don’t talk anymore.  We hide behind a device instead of conversing.  I’m guilty as charged and I can’t picture reforming anytime soon, but I have friends that I still call or they call me and after a phone conversation, I feel much more connected with them.

Technology has added more fun to communication and made it more affordable – hello Skype and Facetime.  It has also taken away from us though.  You rarely get a surprise call anymore because you have call display.  If you meet a cute boy (or girl), and they say they’ll call and they don’t – it’s not likely that they lost your number – they are just not that into you.  You don’t need to sit beside the phone waiting for them to call you since your phone is always with you.  Someone can always get in touch with me through one of my 4 email addresses too!  One for work, one for managing my blog, one professional/Twitter/Linked In accout and one for fun.  All in all, this can all be stressful.  It’s just one of the things that can, so I’ll be writing another couple of entries about stress.  It’s just that important to your overall health (and mine).

Today, I am grateful that the weather is finally feeling spring-like!  It was even warm-ish when I was leaving the office at 9 – see – we all need to learn to manage our stress.  Until later, I am stressfully and…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

