The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 20: Expressing the Harry Potter Meditation

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of choprameditationcenter.com

Wow – just one more blog to write on meditation.  I’d like to say that I can’t believe how quickly that it went by, but truly it didn’t. Yesterday’s entry showcased one of my favourite meditations.  I liked this one quite a bit, but it didn’t speak to me in the same way.  I really love Day 21’s meditation as well, and I’m so happy that the last few were so compelling.  Now, onto the reason that I’m writing this – I’ve got a Candy Crush game to get back to. I know – I’m amazingly deep – huh?

Oprah’s greatest blessing is having an unshakable connection to a power greater than her (is there really such a thing?).  She calls this her sunrise faith because as long as we are on this planet, the sun always rises and this is a truth that we can count on.  Well, there’s also death and taxes, we can all count on those too – bit of a downer though.  No matter what we are going through in life, the sun will always rise tomorrow and this is part of a greater truth.  In Canada, we are taxed on that – it is called the optimism tax.  Just kidding!  Anyway, Oprah believes that the more closely that we connect to the source of every truth, the more wondrous and full our life experience will be.  Our truth self, according to Lady O, is something that we feel when we are doing something or connecting with something that we love or having an AHA moment of insight.  When we feel it, it is the essence of connection like the quiet steady sunrise or when you reach a new level of Candy Crush – I’m just a little obsessed right now if you didn’t guess.

Deepak Chopra answered an important trivia question – what is India’s motto?  The truth alone is victorious.  This was my Harry Potter meditation – it reminded me that good will triumph over evil which is one of the takeaways from the book series and truth will always prevail.  I never thought that I would use Deepak Chopra and Harry Potter in the same paragraph, but there you go, more proof that miracles can happen.  On a more Debbie Downer note, DC reminded us that although this may be his country’s motto, truth isn’t always victorious as much as we wish that it was the case.  Sometimes it seems like deception and lies win out.  Values and beliefs shift, but the truth will inevitably shine and show us it’s true nature.  PHEW – I was getting worried for a second.  It is all about removing doubt so that your true self will shine through.    

According to Deepak, most people think that the truth is relative and that it can be a delusion of a closed mind.  Your true self is not a concept that someone dreamed up.  We glimpse into ourselves in moments of joy, love, inspiration, and insight.  DC called this phenomena your “third eye”.  He wants us to respect everyone’s essence and this lies beyond just appearance.  He also wants us to be our own source of inspiration.  To me, honesty is an inspiration.  The quote, “the truth shall set you free”, isn’t just a platitude, it’s a lifestyle choice.  Lies lead to more lies, where in the truth, you find freedom and peace of mind.  It is the healthy choice, because there is no stress in the truth, it just is.  This makes up for my adoration of Candy Crush doesn’t it?  To end, DC explained what Namaste means – the divinity in me bows to the divinity in you.  It is a reminder to do unto others as you would have them do unto you.  Saying it reminds us of this powerful lesson. Dr. Oz was right in some respects about this meditation thing – it really makes you think.

Today is Mother’s Day and it gives me another moment to heap praise on my Mummy, as if I hadn’t done enough of that already.  It is fitting that I am writing about honesty today since my mother is the most forthright person that I know. She taught me to strive for the best that I can be and that I shouldn’t need gifts to be a motivator.  When I achieve something, it is for myself, not for a reward.  A very important lesson indeed.  I am grateful that I got to spend Mother’s Day with my family and celebrate with them. Oh and Mummy – I just passed you in Candy Crush, so I am grateful for that too – thanks for teaching me to reach for the stars and the coconut wheel when I need it.

Gratefully and crushingly yours,

Jill 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

