The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 18: Expressing Like – I Mean Love

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

I completed the 21 Day Experience on Wednesday evening – and then, they come out with a bonus meditation *sigh*.  It won’t be part of my blog, but in the interest of doing this experience from start to finish I will do it tonight.  Not to spoil the 21st day entry, but Deepak really ended things on a high note so stay tuned for some great words of wisdom with a few meditations that has small moments of inspiration in between.  So getting back to love making the world go round, I mean expressing love!  The most interesting thing about this meditation was the mantra – Om aHa.  Do Deepak and Oprah have homes in Nebraska?  Is Omaha the new yoga and spiritual centre?  To all of my US readers, nice shout out if you are from the state giving us Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom.  Maybe I’m wrong – maybe this was an Oprah licensing thing – she did give us the AHA moment didn’t she?  Maybe she asked Deepak to create a special mantra for her disciples and created the OM-AHA moment?

Moving away from some of my silliness, even though it pains me, Oprah begins by letting us know that when we express ourselves from a centered place of love, miracles happen.  The love that we feel could be the predominant energy that rules the world – just like the Tears for Fears song – “Everybody Wants to Rule the World”  (Jill is saying this part, not Oprah in case you hadn’t guessed).  When we expand our awareness and embrace that which we come from and are love, the universe flows through us, we transform the world in the most natural and wondrous of ways.  This is where my mind starts to wander – when they ideas get a little too out there for me with the flowing energy and the whole world transforming because of little old me.  I think that we can impact some lives, and we need to be kinder and more compassionate, and through that we can change our small part of the world.  We can also be more open to expressing opinions about what is bothering us in the world so that people everywhere know that they are accountable or not forgotten, like the tragedy happening in Nigeria right now.  Just putting it out there, girls are not commodities – they are people and deserve the right to education, security and love, not to be sold into slavery by ridiculous little men who create a new religion to justify their actions (what they are preaching isn’t part of any religion that I know of).  I could go on and on, but I won’t – since this is a health and lifestyle blog.

Getting back to Deepak – he lets us know that fulfillment of the heart chakra elevates all hearts connected to it.  We, tend to limit love to just those people immediately around us (family, friends, etc.).  Deepak Chopra wants us to love the world (I’ll love it with some exceptions – hello bad people, I’m talking to you).  The concept kept getting more abstract, which if you have been following along on my path to meditation, just doesn’t work for me.  He then concludes that we limit ourselves because it is socially acceptable to love our families but not humanity.   Well, sort of, it’s just harder for me to love those people that I don’t have any connection to, but I can feel compassion as I’ve noted above.  AH – he means compassion in the same way that we mean love  – gotcha DC.  This compassion will help us change differences between ourselves and others and unite us in a common goal.  Nice!

Every day, he would like us to make a connection with love beginning in silence – hmmm a woman trying to be silent – don’t you know us at all?  When you experience a positive emotion, he would like us to say to ourselves that this is love flowing from my true self.  I’ll just say, “Oh Happy Day” if you don’t mind.  It can be anything that makes you feel happy like enjoying a sunny day, seeing a puppy tugging it’s owner along, getting to another level in Candy Crush or just watching “The Mindy Project” – whatever brings you that contentment.  Any positive feeling can be traced to love.  Deepak says that you can say “I am love” and know that it’s true and learn to transform small moments along the way.  I think he means make small transformations as a result of this joy that you feel and this will have a positive impact not just on you, but those around you.  This meditation had some bad moments, but overall, when you preach love and compassion, how bad is that?

Today was beautiful.  The weather was warm, and even with the rain, it was still nice.  I’m also grateful that I got to enjoy a good laugh with my massage therapist who always makes me feel better.  I saw my dear friend tonight who spotted Vionic shoes when we were shopping.  They actually are helping with the nasty pain that I’ve been feeling, so I’m totally grateful for that as well.  AND IT”S THE WEEKEND.  Another day, another boatload of gratitude.

Gratefully yours,

Jill

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

