The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 17: I Radiate Support (For The Mindy Project)

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

I love The Mindy Project.  I feel like I’m Mindy Lahiri (the character Mindy Kaling plays).  If you don’t believe me, ask the one bestie that I have that watches the show – we bbm each other the same lines at the same time when we watch because we have the same sense of humour.  I’m exactly like Mindy, well, maybe a couple of obvious differences, but she is my sister from another mister.  I hate spiders and squeal like a girl when I see them.  I have utterly ridiculous things happen to me constantly, I am an OBGYN – ok I work in a sales and marketing role for a media company that carries The Mindy Project, close enough.  I like Rom Coms and the Empire State Building and pop culture.  Sigh…if you don’t watch the show, you really should, in fact stop reading this blog right now and move on to something way more important than my latest meditation.  It was the most satisfying season finale ever. Go on – get watching…

For those rebellious sorts who decided to read this whole entry, I was not inspired by this meditation.  Sure, I’ll still tell you about it, but more out of a sense of obligation than the usual joy that I feel.  It was all about being able to surrender to find your flow.  Been there, surrendered that.  Yah, yah, I’m a beacon of light.  Deepak believes that awakening any chakra brings more power and strength.  This, the third chakra, is like a core of support that knits together the mental, emotional and spiritual strength.  Apparently, you need all three to overcome obstacles and reach the goals in life that matter to you.  You also need courage, confidence, self-reliance, stamina and persistence.  Ok, true enough Deepak – this wasn’t a total waste of 20 minutes of my life (when you are in your forties, every second that you waste counts).

He goes on to explain that the greatest power comes from surrender.  It is a mysterious process because you don’t have to be passive or give up anything.  You are basically supposed to hand a problem over to a power greater than your limited physical and mental powers.  Nice idea – not sure how feasible it is though.  He then went on a long tangent that really didn’t interest me all that much.

To close, DC asked us to notice whenever an obstacle is removed or things unexpectedly go well.  He believes that by noticing when support arrives unexpectedly, you are keeping your connection to this chakra otherwise known as your power centre.  You know I love Deepak Chopra – I just found a lot of this wasn’t really something that resonated with me.  In meditation, as in life, you win some, you lose some at least I’ll be back to Oz-ing soon and will continue to try meditation when these 21 day experiences come up.

Fear not, though, I still have much to be grateful for.  Along with a spectacular episode of The Mindy Project, I had an eye doctor appointment.  I’m grateful that I have been taking care of the business of my health.  I am also grateful that I still don’t need glasses.  Life is good and I am…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

