The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 14 – What am I Activating Again?

Leave a comment

 

Image

Image courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

…oh yeah – CONSCIOUSNESS.  Sorry – I’ve been activating a lot of things lately.  Just a little later today, I’ll be activating my new credit card so I got confused.  Speaking of confusion, I credited the chakramediationcenter.com for the pretty picture, it was supposed to be the chopracentermeditation.com.  I guess it’s all chakra all the time for me.  Yesterday, I got excited on the subway when some people were talking about “Chakra Khan” – my ears were deceiving me though, it was Chaka Khan.  D’OH!

Back to our purpose, well, at least my purpose, which is telling you all about my day 14 meditation  Oprah starts out with a very flowery beginning about experiencing your true self.  I’ll cut to the chase and say that you should bask in simply being, something I’ve never been very good at.  Consciousness is the 7th and final chakra (please don’t be like me and confuse it with Chaka Khan, if you do, I’ll feel for you, so embarassing).  It is located at the crown of your head.  I prefer tiaras personally, but more on that some other time.  Deepak states, “Living as your true self is enlightenment.  When you love simply being alive, feel like love and life are filling you up, you are your true self.  Your life is meant to be harmonious and free.”  Deepak, you can really sweep a meditator off of her mantra. 

He goes on to stress that our spiritual secret is simple – that being here is enough. This line reminds me of one of a very few poems that I actually like – Desiderata by Max Ehrmann – especially, this line “Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself. You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.”  At the end of the two weeks, I’ll post this poem – it really is a summary of all of the advice that DOPRAH provided.  Back to Deepak, who advises that self awareness brings you to the source of creativity, intelligence and joy that is your true self.  I know for me, self-awareness has been one of the gifts of getting older.  It is a gift when you feel like you no longer have to apologize for who you are.  Now it’s more, if you don’t like me, well, that’s ok – I’m secure enough in myself to realize that I can’t take that personally.  This is where you need to look up “The Four Agreements” – you don’t need to read the book – but not taking things personally is one of them.  I bet it has Deepak Chopra’s Seal of Approval and if it doesn’t it should.  According to DC, everyone has moments of self-awareness, when things seem effortless.  TRUE.

He goes on to say that being is the feel of all possibilities and when you activate it, you suddenly find all kinds of doors opening.  It’s true and when they say that if your aren’t looking for something, that’s when it finds you.  Sometimes, it just takes longer than others.  I like to say that a lot can change in a day.  DC thinks that each day brings new joy and confidence in your own being.  Like I said – it’s a benefit of getting older.  Pausing during the day for a moment of gratitude helps you “be” – well, I’m on that thanks to this blog and a little advice to start a gratitude journal from Dr. Oz.  This last piece of advice from Deepak is what I really needed to hear, “There is great wisdom in learning to relax, letting go of all tension and stress.  You open the way for grace and a deep inner knowing that being here is enough”.  Truer words have never been spoken and if I could learn just this one lesson from the entire three week experience, I will have gotten my money’s worth.  Oh right, it’s free, you know what I mean. 

Today, I am grateful for new opportunities and getting great advice from DOPRAH.  This was a very relatable topic.

Gratefully yours,

Jill

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

