The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 13 – Healthy, Wealthy and Wise

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of chakracentermeditation.com

I meditated twice today to catch up a bit.  I actually am at day 16.  It takes an hour to meditate and then make notes after so that I can share the experience (in certain cases it’s lack thereof) with you.  Day 13’s was all about activating wisdom.  I am actively wise or at least that’s what I like to think – but we all are in a way.  Oprah begins by telling us, again, about how important intuition is.  She wanted us to think back on a time when we had to make an important decision and after doing your research, you decide to sleep on it.  Oprah does this to give herself the space and time to listen to her voice inside and she thinks that it points you in the right direction.  I choose to do it to play hard to get.  Kidding.  I think as we get older, we learn the value of pondering some of life’s bigger decisions – having some breathing room gives us some time to think instead of being impulsive.  Most of the time, I know what I am going to do, but I like having some flexibility and yes, giving my intuiton some time to kick in.  Good one Oprah!  She goes on to say, that we make mistakes when we don’t listen to our intuition.  When we feel doubt, it is the universe telling us to pay attention and it will let us know what we need to do.  Um…maybe.

Wisdom, the sixth chakra, is locating between your brows, so be careful when plucking that you don’t remove it accidentally – just kidding sillies.  Deepak Chopra says that eyes are connected to the soul and only when they have this connection can they see what is real. Thanks DC – now I know where the expression that eyes are the windows to the soul came from.  He then explains that people have a tendency to put wisdom on a pedestal, as if you must live a long time and think deeply to become wise, but your true self is wise already.  I know a few older people who need to learn a life lesson or two so I’m totally with you DC.  He gets concerned when this chakra is blocked because it can leave you feeling lost and confused and then it is hard to make decisions that feel right.

He wants us to trust our inner guidance to have a balanced chakra giving us a calm and easy sense of what we need to do.  Intuition is the light of your true self showing you the way.  Most of the time, it’s just telling you what you know already, at least in my humble opinion.  DC explains that we trust this inner guidance when you use a skill that you have mastered.  When you know what you know, that is inner guidance.  Any situation where there is uncertainty or you doubt yourself, try feeling your way to the right choice instead of just coming to the decision logically.  He suggests that this state of rightness helps you let go of the problem and when you think that you have an answer inside, trust it. I usually have more of a commentary, but I think that CHOPRAH did a great job today guiding us through how to activate wisdom.  I think we all have times when we don’t trust ourselves, but intuition is a good place to start when making one of life’s big decisions. 

I am excited to be closing in on the last week.  Tomorrow, I’ll be writing about day 14.  I’m looking forward to the end of this part of my path on the road to wellness.   I keep telling you everyday that I’m anxious to get back to a more Oz-ified existance.  I do think that I’ll miss listening to this daily meditation.  I’ll probably appreciate it even more when I don’t have to write about it but that isn’t what I am grateful for today.  Today, I am grateful that I got to spend some time with my beautiful niece.  I am grateful anytime I get to see her.  She’s an adult now – but in many ways, I’ve always seen her that way anyway.

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

