The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 12: Express Yourself (Part Deux) and Other Challenges

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

Life is so complicated.  I have no clue how many more weeks that I have left to blog, but my weekly anniversary is Wednesdays.  I haven’t spent any money on my health since this meditation started except for my Twinrix shot, but that isn’t Oz related so I can’t count that.  I haven’t tried yoga yet, because meditation takes up so much time.  Tomorrow is the start of a new month, but I can’t move into inflammation until I finish meditation and I still have 9 more meditations to go.  Calgon – take me away!  I’m seriously not all that stressed, although, I’d really like to move on to a clean new topic tomorrow like I’m supposed to and go back to the land of Oz.  As I keep saying, I like the meditation, and I will do it again…next year.  I am going to continue reading more from Deepak Chopra, but meditation every day is just not my thing.  I get distracted by whether I am pronouncing the mantra correctly even in my inside voice.  My saving grace is that I don’t think the universe is really listening to me.

Back to expressing myself or expressing a summary and my thoughts on activating expression.  Oprah sounded more like her authentic self meaning she didn’t have that fake gentleness in her voice that she likely thinks is meditative.  I just find it insincere, but because she is Oprah, I forgive her.  She started with a some truthful statements, “Our intentions create our thoughts, our words and our actions.  We are what we feel, say and express.”  She goes on to say that if we hold back on the full expression of our truth, we limit the richness of what life has in store for us.  I’ll buy that.  I don’t agree 100% when she says that when we express negativity and fear, that we experience more of these feelings.  I find if I express something that I’m afraid of, it sometimes helps me get over my fear.  Plus, what she calls negativity, I call venting but you can’t do it all of the time.  Sometimes, it’s a case of better to express how you feel than keep it trapped inside.  She ends on a more positive note saying that you need to give voice to your dreams to actualize them.  The more you talk about something that you want to do, the more likely you are to do it.  I spoke of writing this blog for months before I actually did it, but by telling a lot of people, it created an expectation and my pride wouldn’t let me walk away from the idea.  I love writing this blog and even if I had only 6 people reading it, I would still love the experience.

Expression is the fifth chakra and is located in your throat – so no, that’s not a frog in there, it’s a chakra.  DC speaks to the fact that it makes sense for it to be located in your throat since the way we most often express ourself is through speech.  He goes on to say (or express) that your personal reality, the way you see the world, is connected to how you express yourself.  Right he is!  He picked up on what Oprah said about expressing negativity and his take is that when you keep expressing negative feelings, you will start to filter out anything that isn’t negative and your brain will start to process your reality to fit your beliefs.  I agree to an extent but still think that venting is good.  You just have to balance the glass is half empty with some happy, fulfilling thoughts as well.  I don’t like being around people who are conistently negative, and I try to see the silver lining in many clouds, but there are times that even perky me needs to tell someone that I’m having a crappy day or several.  We all need pity parties at times, but the key is to know when the party is over and get some perspective.  I agree with his theory that if you express yourself from your true self, it is natural to favour optimism, love, appreciation, gratitude, kindness, and compassion.  These feelings are what make us all happy and warm the chakras, I mean cockles of our hearts.

He then went into some symbolism that was a bit much for me, I’d even go so far as to call it hooey.  He got back on track, just like I knew he would by reminding us of connection that comes from communication.  The next part was my favourite – he said that words convey the impulses of consciousness which include encouragement, ENTHUSIASM (sorry got a little carried away there), EXUBERANCE!!!!!! (sorry, got carried away again), and nourishment.  These allow us to open ourselves up to people and the world around you.  He encourages us to be exuberant YAYAYAYAYAY!!! I love exuberance.  As Dr. Phil always says, it’s time to get excited about your life and it will make people around you feel better if you do.  Or they will think you are annoying and fappy (fake happy), but I choose to believe, the more positive that you are, the more people will want to be around you.

To end on a positive note, today, I am grateful for having an umbrella with me on a rainy day, for meetings that don’t always have to be scary, even when they are about change, and for getting a seat on the subway when my hands were quite full.  Life isn’t so  bad now, is it?  I’ve got to go meditate on how I am…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

