The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 11: What the World Needs Now Is Love….

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

…sweet love.  Great – now I’m quoting Burt Bacharach songs.  What have I become?  I’m like one of those young American Idol contestants being forced to sing songs by a man at least 4 times their age.  Did you ever wonder how come they all pretended to know who he was?  They’d all act really excited, but I bet only one really old soul actually knew who the man was, the rest were hoping for One Direction or whoever the big band of their season was.  I’d be much more excited to meet One Direction.  I, like Gwyneth Paltrow’s soon to be uncoupled from, husband find them delightful and entertaining.  No offence to the silver haired and tongued, talented Mr. Bacharach intended.  Now back to today’s topic – Activating Love.

Of course D-oprah are both much deeper than myself.  I did enjoy this one a little bit more than yesterday’s meditation.  It was because the concept wasn’t as abstract.  It’s all about being relatable for me.  Oprah started by posing a question, “What can happen in our lives when we allow love and compassion to flow freely?”  Well, like my Momma always told me (I threw in a little Forrest Gump), you catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.  Sorry – there was more deepness, I got side-tracked “…we begin to feel at one with the force of pure joy, reciprocity and kinship, connected and whole with more to give which means we receive more and life gets better.”  She has a point – just think when you have done something really good, helpful or even compassionate for someone – you feel good about yourself and are more connected to that person.  I always go on and on about the friends who went out of their way for me during a difficult time in my life – and they know that because they showed me compassion, they will always get it back, whenever they need it.  Even when you do something kind for a stranger, there is a small joy in that and the universe will pay you back.  Sorry to go all Oprah on you – but it’s true and I’ve seen it.  It can be as small as helping out a tourist in your city who is lost remembering that one day, you will be that person who needs a hand. Speaking of tourists, the Divine Miss O asks us to remember a moment that took your breath away or melted your heart.  It could be the vast majesty of the sky (not for me – fast moving clouds make me dizzy), the mountains (ok, getting warmer – I love the mountains), ocean waves (totally hot now – adore the ocean) or redwood trees (cold, cold – very cold – trees are full of bugs). 

We learned that the heart chakra is the fourth chakra and helps us to give, receive and connect with others.  To experience love fully means experiencing who you are according to Deepak.  He goes on to say that love can have different intensities but the reality is that the connection to this chakra can be like the feelings of love at first sight (strong) or the love that you feel when you think of a friend from the past (weak).  He suggests that you can live love rather than look for love by experiencing a silent mind.  I’m sure any man that you speak to would rather have have a wife with a silent mouth and a louder mind – just kidding ladies!   He provides us with a couple of lovely lines from a poem to get the point across, ” Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the values within yourself that you built against it.”  I think the translation is essentially, you can’t look for something until you deal with the issues that you have created within yourself. 

His belief is that the energy forces in your heart can remove obstacles effortlessly like warmth dissolves ice.  The man is a poet!  Let’s just say, he wants you to lead with the heart, rather than the head which is a challenge for many of us (although some are too led by their hearts too).  This is to help connect you with others and alleviate feelings of loneliness, isolation, and anxiety  which are all from a lack of love.  He wants us to think of and notice the different “flavours” of love in your heart and these include appreciation, gratitude, enjoyment, affection, romance, and personal attraction.  This can be as simple as acknowledging how beautiful a morning is to remembering that love is gentle – it’s not all about having strong emotion.  I have to say, I love DC – he makes the simplest concepts and advice sound like iambic pentameter.  No wonder Dr. Oz likes the guy so much!

Today, I am grateful for my health.  I went to the doctor to get some test results and what I’ve been doing is helping – no drugs needed for this Oz follower just yet, well except all of the supplements that I take.  Can’t wait to meditate later (only 10 more to go).

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

