Jill Of Some Trades

And Master Of At Least One

Day 10: I’ve Got the Power

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

Day 10 – not my  favourite meditation so far if I can keep it real, but I did find a word of wisdom or two.  Oprah started out by likening the power of strength, commitment, compassion, vision and love to people like Nelson and Ghandi.  Ghandi – that’s a pretty big toga to fill or Mandela – I can’t compare and before you say au contraire (pardon the rhyme), it’s true.  Yes, perhaps we all have a certain power within as Oprah speculated, but I think some people are able to rise above their circumstance better than others.  Maybe, they had a different type of life experience that afforded them this opportunity.  As much as I admire these two great men, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to walk a mile in their shoes, so Oprah, I’m going to have to assume that some people transcend what we, mere mortals, may be capable of…even if the power of the universe is flowing through us. 

I was hoping my mentor and Dr. Oz guest, Deepak could make some sense of this for me.  He provided me with a been there, powered through that moment when he stated that power is often used to harm rather than heal.  He then went a bit too abstract for a bit.  He reigned it back in by telling us that we could source our power by channeling it into confidence, self-esteem and strength to meet life’s every challenge.  Well, DC, why didn’t you just say so to begin with?  Now, I’m starting to get the point of this whole power meditation.

Our third chakra, according to Deeps, gives us the capacity to accomplish what matters most to us.  I call that being Type A which I cop to being.  He goes on to warn us that if our power centre isn’t balanced, we feel low self-esteem, timid and sometimes victimized.  Some people compensate by bullying, which if you don’t know by now is a horrible thing to do.  This makes sense, you try to instill fear so that you feel better about being fearful.  I guess in his own way, Deepak Chopra is trying to help us understand the sadness that lives within a bully.  I do feel sorry for them, because they are likely victims in some part of their life, but I feel true compassion for the innocents that they seek to harm.  This is a terrible misuse of power. 

He goes on to explain that to keep the flow of inner power activated, think of ways that you would like to have the power to create change and place attention on the change that you would like to see.  Right now, that would be my health and ensuring that I am doing everything in my power to reverse any damage that I have created.  As much as I like the meditation (ok, just the part about listening to Deepak), I miss the day to day health advice that I was seeking from Dr. Oz.  I have ten more days of the meditation experience, then it’s back to finding out which nut I need to eat next.   I felt like I was being more proactive, or powerful when I was researching and finding bits of information towards living a life filled with optimum health.  I do continue to gain valuable insight through this experience, and as I mentioned yesterday, I will continue to explore meditation, it just won’t be a regular feature of my blog – rather, it may just make a special guest appearance from time to time.

Back to feeling powerful…DC believes that if you think you don’t deserve power or hand off decisions to others, or permit someone to control you, that these are inner blocks to keeping your personal power from waking up.  This is where it gets good again – we all have limiting beliefs and judge ourselves.  Once you have seen a limitation, announce to yourself that you want this limitation transformed, and ask the universe to tap into your inner strength to change it.  Sounds easy when he says it – huh?  Hey there, Mr. Universe, please change the thought that I had this morning about how I wished it was still the weekend…well, maybe this is one thought that I’ll have to continue to ponder.

Today, I am grateful for something small and silly.  There are days when more people from the US read my blog than Canadians.  This always makes me feel grateful since I don’t know who these people are and they are still reading my entries even without me forcing them to.  It absolutely thrills me when I see that, so thank you for reading!  As always, I am…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun so my blog evolved from The Whiz-Ard That is Dr. Oz into Jill of Some Trades. After the death of my mother, I added grief to my list of topics and this became a place for me to remember the good, but embrace the sad as well. I'll never write about any one thing - there is just so much in the world to comment on. Life is all about crying and laughing and learning, sometimes all at once and this is what I hope that my blog is for you.

Leave a comment