The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 9: Don’t Worry – We Happy

Leave a comment

Image

Image courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

I’ve always loved the colour orange.  It clashes with my current hair colour, blond – too many saturated colours too close to each other).  Luckily, even though orange is not a primary colour, it is the colour that matches the second chakra – happiness.  I kind of liked this meditation – who doesn’t like the idea of pushing their worries aside and just being happy.  This meditation was proactive – you were supposed to activate your happiness. 

Oprah actually offered a bit more advice this time.  She said that to activate the full potential of happiness, you have to focus on your dreams and desires and to start seeing them as clues that will guide you to a state of happiness in all areas of life.  Interesting – and simple.  I think we all make things so complicated and are so afraid of disappointment that we often are afraid to pursue or express our dreams.  I KNOW – I’M DEEP – RIGHT?  Don’t answer that.

Deepak explains the chakra of happiness in yet another simple, yet profound way.  The second chakra (happiness in case you weren’t paying attention – wakey, wakey) is located a few inches below the navel.  No wonder guys seem to put so much emphasis on what’s below the belt – they are confusing that sort of happiness when they really should be contemplating their navels.  My apologies, just a little meditation humour.  Getting back to the point of this, it’s about embracing any desire…”that brings happiness, creativity and a sense of delight and bliss.” 

DC wants us to celebrate desire as a divine gift since it motivates us to get out of bed in the morning and seek satisfaction and happiness.  This guy is beyond smart.  He moves on to remind us that being spiritual doesn’t mean reonouncing our desires and that there is nothing impure about desire, itself when it is connected to the truth.  He uses the example spiritual people desire to reach God and that they do this because they are following their desires.  Nothing impure in that.

At the end of the meditation, he asks that you become aware of the desires that come into your awareness throughout the day.  Ideally, you will respond to them with acceptance and joy rather than judgment and repression.  He believes that if we open ourselves up to our true desires, that we are saying yes to happiness.  If you activate the second chakra, you will be happier in life and will be on the road to self-acceptance.  The challenge that I am having with all of this, as beautiful as the words are, is that I need time to aborb the information.  I think that what I am learning most of all, is that in order to appreciate what Oprah and Deepak are speaking about, you can’t just make this a 21 day experience.  It has to be a contemplation that takes place over a longer period of time whether it is sitting quietly and pardon the expression, contemplating your navel, or taking the time to make the advice a part of your life.  I choose to spend more time with the tools that I have been given, otherwise, this experiencce could end up being wasted.  I’ve invested a lot of time in Dr. Oz’s advice, and meditation is threaded through it and it is supposed to be part of optimum health, which is my goal. 

To end this chakra lesson, today, I am grateful for the happiness that I experienced this weekend.  We threw a big party for our mother’s bleep-fifth birthday and it was amazing to see all of our family and our mother’s close friends.  We got to spend time with our amazing cousins who came in from Ottawa (the lovely MK and GK who I interviewed for my diet blogs last month) plus our delightful cousins from Montreal.  It was a great weekend all around and our mother was very happy.  It truly made me feel grateful to see so many people come and pay tribute to my little Mummy.   I’ll be writing another blog soon so that I don’t fall behind on the meditation, but until then, I remain,

Gratefully yours,

Jill

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

