The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 6 – Om Sweet Om

1 Comment

Image

Courtesy of chopracentermeditation.com

Look how cute that owl is – I bet he doesn’t have a problem with meditation.  His wisdom is probably within.  His mantra may be hoot hoot, but at least he has one.  I had some meditation issues again today.  It’s partly because I keep thinking about what I’m going to write in my blog, but as always, I do love the time with Oprah and Deepak.  Today’s meditation was all about finding wisdom, and wise little me was just as excited about finally getting to do the OM mantra that I had been expecting all along.  What a day!

Today, Oprah introduced instinct – her emotional GPS (sometimes it’s my emotional PMS) and the place where you can get all of your best answers if you can be still and listen.  You know that old expression – trust your instincts?  I think our lady O is on to something.  We depend so much on external factors and there is so much noise around us all of the time, that we don’t listen to our own little inside voices.  Sometimes, we know what that voice is saying is true and we ignore it, because even though we know internally, whether something is right or wrong, we often don’t want to even take our own advice.  Maybe I should have changed the pronoun to “I” instead of the collective “you” but someone out their must have ignored the good angel on their shoulder once or twice too – it’s not just me – right?

Finally, we got the the “OM” part of the meditation with Deepak.  He reminds us that wisdom and instinct lie beyond your logical intellect.  I’m going to have to Google that to see if it’s true.  Scratch that, I think DC may know what he’s talking about.  We can sense things, and they cannot always be explained.  It’s like when the hairs on the back of your neck stand up (if you don’t shave them) or when you know something is going to happen before it does.  We’ve all experienced that.  Deepak would like us to open ourselves up to intuition.  I think I will try this when I have to make a decision or am seeking advice on something.  I’ll ask myself the tough questions (again, in my inside voice) or listen when my instincts are telling me something. 

The meditation reminds us that we had an openness when we were children and this was the place where self-realization was born.  Wouldn’t it be nice to be open to at least trusting yourself? To accomplish this end goal, DC recommends that we pretend that we are watching the scene in front of us unfold like it is a movie.  You are not involved, but still engaged.  The idea is to step back and see life as your soul sees it, always giving you the guidance that you need without judgment or expectation.  So cool!  This is worth a try.  I still have a problem with stillness so I’m going to try sitting on the floor for tomorrow’s meditation – I just hope my feet don’t fall asleep – wish me luck.  I just want to at least try to stay in the moment and to not have peaked early in the process.  I want to experience the benefits of meditation that Dr. Oz is always telling us about.

Today, I was reading ‘Tis (the sequel to Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt) on the subway ride home and it went by in the blink of an eye.  I am grateful for the enjoyment that reading continues to bring to me.  If you have or want any good book recommendations just let me know.  Until tomorrow Namaste (I feel so hip when I say that) and I am…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

One thought on “Day 6 – Om Sweet Om

  1. Pingback: Day #1 Meditation Challenge | The Guide To Freedom

Leave a Reply

