The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 3 – I’ve Got the Power

Leave a comment

 

Image

Courtesy of https://chopracentermeditation.com

There are very few things in life that one can be sure of or feel confident in.  One of things that I know for sure (to steal an Oprah-ism) is that no matter how tough things may get, I will get through it.  I’ve been through a lot in my short life, some of it is not my story to tell, so I won’t get into too many details.  One of things that you have to decide when writing a blog is how much you want to intrude on other people’s lives.  I choose not to, as much as possible.  My goal is to better myself, not to embarass someone else or spill anyone’s secrets. 

Today’s meditation is about finding power.  Oprah didn’t speak to me all that much in today’s introduction just went on about the power there is in every move we make, every breath you take, I’ll be watching you.  Oh sorry – that was The Police – I just love that song.  She did have one good line – we show our power in crisis when others need our support.  I know that this is one of my strengths – I’m good in a crisis – I know how to help someone get through a difficult time.  I’m not afraid of bad news and wouldn’t abandon someone in need.  We all go through highs and lows in life, and people that run from unpleasantness can’t really hide forever because there is no perfect life.

Deepak, on the other hand, did speak to me.  He started off today’s meditation with a fallacy – that we are never given more than we can handle.  He identified this as an expression of comfort and mentioned that sometimes we are faced with something so difficult that it seems impossible to get through.  He said at times like these, we need to understand that our strength is limited but we can tap into a greater energy source – the universe.  Meditation is a way to connect our mind, body and spirit to that power.  I know, I may have thought this was all hooey at one point or another in my life, but there is something, maybe it’s the knowledge or conviction that Chopra speaks with that really resonates with me.  I had fewer issues with today’s meditation.  I lay down on my bed so that I would fidget less and concentrate more. 

To use a metaphor, meditation to me is like snorkling.  Once I focused more on my breathing, it was easier to concentrate much like I do when I’m in the ocean.  I didn’t check the clock once and was surprised at how quickly it ended today even though it has taken the same amount of time every day.  My mind did wander, but all of what I was thinking about had to do with today’s meditation which is better to me than the two previous days when I was thinking about an itchy arm (didn’t happen today) or when the whole thing would be over.  I do feel more energized today as well.  Perhaps there is something to this practice?   Maybe that’s why they call it practicing meditation – it takes time to get the hang of it, and you may never be perfect.

According to doctoroz.com,  “The goal of meditation is not to have a blank mind but rather to focus your mind and slow down the multiple random thoughts that cause stress, confusion and overload. There are different practices you can try to keep your mind focused on the present moment as opposed to thinking ahead or reliving the past. Examples include counting while you inhale and exhale or using a mantra – a repetitive sound, word or phrase.”  This has all been a great comfort to me, along with Deepak Chopra himself saying that it is difficult to completely clear your mind. 

Today, I am grateful that I don’t have to the perfect meditator, but at least now I know that even if practice doesn’t make perfect, it makes for a more relaxed person. 

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

