The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Day 2 and Cat Naps

Leave a comment

Day2

Image courtesy of https://chopracentermeditation.com

Day 2 of 21 and I am feeling deeper by the second – self-help is my middle name.  Actually, I don’t have a middle name, but I don’t hold a grudge just because my first name is a 4-letter word.  At least it’s not a bad word like funk, darn, shot, or help (I warned you before that my blog was g-rated).  I digress, though – maybe being in touch with the higher version of myself makes me nervous?  I’ll take a deep, cleansing breath and continue…

Day 2 of my 21 Day Meditation Experience focused on finding happiness.  Interestingly enough, yesterday’s mantra was lam, today’s was yam (pronounced yum – maybe they should spell it phoenetically – just a suggestion Doprah).  I wonder if tomorrow’s will be dam (pronounced dum, but not an insult because that would be dumb).  Doprah’s goal is for us to all experience happiness all the time, but not just externally when something fantastic happens like when you buy the perfect purse, the perfect pair of shoes or are in Disney World (it really is the happiest place on earth).  It’s deeper than that (of course), it’s about knowing that while these feelings can come and go, inner happiness is what is important.  Oprah said it’s about relaxing in the certainty that your deepest desires are leading you to the deepest expression of yourself.

Deepak had some really great insights including that happiness is not about self-sacrifice (so take that martyrs) or denial – rather desire is natural and the desire for happiness is something that we all share (I’m paraphrasing).  Isn’t that interesting though?  How many times have you given up something or denied yourself something for the perceived greater good – and did it necessarily lead to any joy for you?  I’ve sacrificed and at times denied myself things (not purses) because I thought it was what was expected of me, and you know what?  I wasn’t any happier because of it.  Good life lesson isn’t it?

Meditation was a bit better for me today, but seriously, I wish it could be over in 5 minutes.  I got fidgety after about 7 minutes.  The mantra does help keep you centred, but I always get an itchy arm and that distracts me.  I also had to peak at the time and then let out a huge “Really?  There is still five minutes left – when will this end”?  It was better today though.  Yam, yam, yam….I’m not sure if I feel happier, but it does relax you.

Speaking of relaxation, I watched an episode of Dr. Oz today to keep up on my homework – it was all about are you tired of being tired?  His solution?  Napping at least 2 times a week for ten minutes.  This apparently can help cure exhaustion.  Ten minutes is optimal because it allows you to get up easily and feel refreshed.  If you sleep for an hour, you are getting into deeper sleep and that will make you feel more groggy.  It’s almost better to sleep 90 minutes than an hour because you are not sleeping as deeply at that point but it will affect your sleep at night.  They even suggest sleeping in a chair with a pen in your hand to keep it at the desired amount of time – the pen will fall out of your hand at about 15 minutes waking you up.  My biggest challenge?  It takes me a long time to fall asleep, but it’s worth a try – maybe not at work though – I may get some strange looks.

Totally off topic, but it struck a chord with me, Dr. Oz also spoke of the dangers of aspartame-sweetened diet sodas.  May is my two year anniversary of kicking the Diet Coke habit for good – and this may help me prevent a heart attack according to the show.  Dr. Oz has a 4 week challenge to cut soda (or pop in Canada) out of your life http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/28-day-national-soda-challenge.  I didn’t quit Diet Coke because I was worried about the health affect, I quit as a challenge to myself, but I thought I would go back to drinking it.  The best way for this addict (I have enjoyed the beverage since I was 12 years old) to quit was by phasing it out over a week.  I cut it down to one can a day from two and the next week I was at the Biggest Loser Resort and there was no access to my own brand of crack (sorry Rob Ford).  I thought I would have a DC in 13 weeks, and it just tasted horrible.  You really have to tough it out, but after 13 weeks and trying the forbidden fruit, I just didn’t want it anymore.  It can be done – you just have to really want to do it.

Now that I’ve probably made you need to nap, I shall depart with a moment of gratitude.  Today, I woke up thinking it was Saturday – lovely but it’s Friday!!! All day!  So I still have 2 more weekend days left.  Yippeee!  Now that’s happiness.

Gratefully and happily yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

