The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Hitting the Books…

2 Comments

Blog 1

Well, one book in particular.  “You Being Beautiful” has a chapter on energy.  I promised you that I would revisit the book from time to time and it really is a good resource.  There is a very tiny little quiz – one question, that asks the first time that you feel tired during the day.  For me, it’s mid-afternoon.  I don’t feel great when I wake up, but I don’t feel overly exhausted either.  Answering the quiz with anything other than “not until after a day of working 12 hours or more” means that the energy systems in your body are slightly or completely out of wack.  I have noticed some small changes over the last few days.  Since I have been trying to add more energizing magnesium and potassium-rich foods to my diet and have added a few of the other Dr. Oz recommended energy boosters, I have noticed I feel better.  I’ll provide a list of potassium-rich foods tomorrow, and the good news is that many are also rich in magnesium as well, so you may think that I have brain fog and have been repeating myself, but I won’t be.  Today for example, I had an orange with my toast for breakfast.  I had an egg-white scramble with avocado, brocolli, zucchini, peppers, etc. for lunch.  It was my first time having egg whites – I’m just not an egg fan, and figured it was worth a try because it’s a healthy, protein-rich meal.  Honestly, it comes down to texture – it just wasn’t for me.

Back to my energy in crisis mode – the book identifies some culprits as not getting enough sleep, too much food, too much saturated fat (hello coconut oil), sugary foods, too much stress, not enough fun and passion in life or an infection or other chronic disease (see page 157).  So, what are their solution now that we know the problems?  Well here you go:

-DHA – the active form of Omega-3 – this comes from fish oils or the algae that they eat.  I’ve tried even enteric coated DHA – it’s still tastes fishy.  I may try the algae capsules if I can find them.

-Ribose – I really don’t know enough about this – the book said that this sugar is made in your body and by taking a supplement, it can really boost your energy.  I really want to study this before I even try it so that I’m not taking something that may cause more harm than good and I’d rather not take another supplement.

-Exercise – we all know that it’s good for us.  I’m slowly getting back to exercising three times a week and am making an effort to hit 10,000 steps daily.  Yesterday, I did a long walk and got up to almost 14,000.

-Sleep 8 hours – I’m not going to provide a lot of detail on this.  I am still sleeping better than I did, but I’m not at the magic number yet.  Read my January entries to see what I learned about sleep.  I’ve been keeping up with a lot of the habits that I developed that month.

-Chia seeds – they have omega-3’s (helping decrease inflammation and increasing energy) and are full of fibre.  Once I finish my flaxseeds, I may switch over to Chia.

-Maca – a Peruvian energy booster – it’s a vegetable from the mustard family.  The side effect is insomnia and it can be obtained in powder form at many health food and stores and what a suprise – at Whole Foods.  Even though it’s supposed to be a great energy boost, insomnia is just not worth it to me.

-Rhodiola rosea – these chips are supposed to be stuffed into a pint container filled with vodka and you take a tablespoon at night.  They don’t have enough data on this to recommend it to everyone (says the book) so I say skip it – again why keep taking supplements if you don’t have to?

-Get rid of infections – this can be as easy as flossing (which I do religiously), reducing sinusitis by using a neti pot to reduce symptoms.  I use a nasal rinse that is similar – it feels like you just jumped in a pool and all of the water went up your nose, but it really helps and is all natural.  They also recommend probiotics, sleep, hand washing, and making food choices that avoid all simple sugars and saturated fats (hmm…coconut oil ring a bell anyone?).

-Go B – many people don’t get enough B vitamins from our diets.  You can absorb it, so taking a supplement is what they recommend in the book. They also suggest that you get tested annually for Vitamin B12 and D levels.  These are the only vitamin supplements that I currently take.

-Go Green – drink green tea since it has the highest content of polyphenols – major antioxidents.  We all know that it is good for you, but I’m not great about drinking it all that often.  I have been trying to drink a cup for Chai for cardamon, dandelion tea for my liver and my usual black tea so it’s hard to get everything in.  The dandelion tea is ok – it has a slightly earthy, bitter flavour – it almost tastes like green tea to me.

As always, there is a lot of homework to do, but I’ll continue to try my best to fit in as much as I can in my pursuit of energy.  Today, I have a lot to be grateful for on another note.  I had brunch outside – it was really nice out!  I get to see one of my favourite people – AK tonight and it was just a nice day in general.  Until tomorrow, I remain…

Gratefully and energetically yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “Hitting the Books…

  1. What’s up, just wanted to tell you, I enjoyed this post.
    It was practical. Keep on posting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

