The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Heigh Hi Heigh Ho – It’s 38 Weeks to Go

Leave a comment

Image

This is likely copyrighted to the Walt Disney Company

Now, a quick musical interlude to celebrate the 38 week countdown to my year of living Oz-ily.  Please use your imagination for the melody – many of you may be familiar with it!

I slog slog slog slog slog slog slog in the office the
whole day through
But to write write write write write write write is what I really like to do
It ain’t (grammatically, this should be isn’t – sigh, shame on you Walt Disney) no trick to get rich quick
If you blog blog blog with a laptop or a pick (sorry, it had to rhyme with quick)
It’s mine! It’s mine! It’s mine! It’s mine!
Where good health will truly shine!

I work work work work work work work from early morn till night
Then I look look look look look look look up every piece of Oz advice in sight
I dig up probiotics by the score
A thousand bacteria, sometimes more (well closer to a billion)
But I don’t know what else to dig ’em for
I dig dig dig a-dig dig

[Chorus]
Heigh-ho, Heigh-ho
It’s home to blog I go
[Whistle]

Thank you ladies and gentleman – I’ll be here tomorrow night too!  I’m sure this is copyrighted to the Walt Disney company as well.

It’s been a very busy Oz month already!  The biggest challenge for me is remembering everything that I’m supposed to eat.  Yesterday, I had a prebiotic, good for everything banana, today I didn’t but had some garlic in my stir fry to get in the prebiotics.  I learn more and more every day, but it can get complicated.  As I mentioned yesterday (or was it the day before), a chart will really come in handy – I just need to find the time to do it.  I also forget to take some supplement or another almost every day (except for probiotics).  I’m not complaining, but remembering and keeping up with everything that I’m supposed to do is a bit of a chore.  I’m trying to keep up the good habits that I learn each and every week and I’m convinced I’m getting somewhere – at least I hope so.

Now to the tally for the week.  I have spent $21.45.  I found coconut oil ($14.99 + tax) at the health food store and also purchased herbal dandelion tea ($3.99) to clean my liver.  They did not have dandelion coffee so I figured that this was close enough and the nice man who showed it to me said it has the same benefits.  I haven’t tried the tea yet, but I will soon.  I cooked with the coconut oil today – just a vegetable stir fry with brown rice.  It tasted more coconut-ty than I was expecting.  It’s not a bad thing actually – it’s almost pleasant if you like that sort of taste.  I will say, that unless it makes me feel fantastic, I will likely stick with the also OZ-approved Olive Oil.  My concern is that right now it’s the hottest and healthiest oil ever, but it’s a tropical oil which somehow I just don’t trust.  I’m going to do some research and get back to you soon.   The long term benefits of Olive Oil have been proven. I’m not saying that I think coconut oil is bad, but if I’m travelling a path to good health, the tried and true may be the way for me to get there.

On that note, I think it’s time for some gratitude.  It was a lovely, sunny day in Toronto – it felt almost spring-like!  My favourite show, “The Mindy Project”, has been picked up for another season despite some not so great ratings.  PLUS I got to go to the dentist!  My teeth are clean, and I was told again, what a great job I do keeping my teeth stain and plaque free.  My EGO is getting bigger by the day.  The only issue I have is my wisdom tooth is rubbing against another tooth and it caused a little crack that they need to fix so I’m grateful that the tooth didn’t break and it’s an easy fix.  Until tomorrow, it’s heigh ho, off to bed I go, but I remain…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

