The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Bananas About Magnesium and Cher

Leave a comment

Image

Image Courtesy of I Don’t Remember, Please Don’t Sue Me

I’m still feeling sluggish, but had moments today where I felt slightly more energized.  I ate a prebiotic, magnesium filled, potasium filled banana as prescribed.  I even had inflammation fighting cardamom courtesy of my first chai tea since the Norwalk Virus incident of 2005 – it’s still too painful to talk about.  I knew, though, that there had to be more Oz suggestions, I just knew it, so surfing his site, I found a reminder of how important magnesium is if you aren’t feeling bouncy  and energetic.  I know that I need to bring some perk to my twerk and if you do too – here are the foods that have the most bang for your magnesium buck (from doctoroz.com):

Eat at least 5 servings of any of these magnesium-rich foods throughout the day:

  • ½ cup of boiled spinach – I eat so much fresh spinach – I just can’t see eating it bolied
  • ½ cup of quinoa – YAY – I love quinoa
  • 1 cup of brown rice – I’ll be eating this tomorrow
  • 1 cup of kidney beans – back to this – no way – they look like kidneys
  • 1 cup of lentils – YAY – I love a lentil or two
  • 1 cup of raisin bran – There are no prizes in this cereal – I’ll think about this one
  • 1 cup of shredded wheat – Again – no prizes – no Jill
  • 1 cup of oatmeal – Once a week I can manage
  • 2 slices of whole wheat bread – I have this every day for breakfast except my bread is whole grain, Omega 3 bread – the kind without additives or preservatives – you know, like the kind you get at Whole Foods

I think I provided this list before, but it never hurts to have a gentle reminder.  I love that Dr. Oz doesn’t want you getting this in a supplement.  Nuts also are a source of magnesium and I eat nuts with almost every meal.  They are actually great in a salad.  I had a HUGE salad for dinner with chicken, every green leaf that you can imagine peppers, etc.  As directed, I added oranges for citrus – I still have to shop for lemons so that I can have some citrus at every meal – but this was a good start and added my RDA of cashews (like 12 – don’t go overboard).  So good and they don’t get soggy like croutons.  Let’s see if adding more magnesium helps.  I’m also going to pick up some kiwis again – I forgot that he is a fan of eating 2 in the morning to get your day off to an energizing start.  It’s so hard sometimes to remember everything that I’m supposed to eat – I’ll have to come up with a handy chart to keep everything straight.  When I do, I’ll post a copy so that everyone can use it as a handy reference.

To end today, yet more to be grateful for!  I’m a concert lover and yesterday, I took some clients to see Cher – Pat Benatar was her opening act.  I LOVE Pat Benatar – We Belong is one of my top favourite songs.  I have seen Cher before (I think it was her first farewell tour).  I like her, but I’ve never been a huge fan.  Well, I have to tell you, today, I am grateful for CHER!!!!!!!!!!  She is hilarious – even she made fun of herself for her farewell tours.  She is a great performer and that lady can put on a show.  Her face may not move and a foot injury meant her body didn’t move much either, but I loved it!  She may be a senior citizen, but in the words of Gwyneth Paltrow’s bestie Jay – Shawn Carter – Z, that woman is one bad mutha smucker (sorry, this blog is PG rated).  It made me so proud to have two Cher dolls when I was growing up (hand me downs from my older sisters).  Here is a pic from last night – blurry, but what do expect from a Blackberry?

Image

Gratefully Yours,

Jill

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

