The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Please Not Another Smoothie…

Leave a comment

Image

I was doing a little research on energy boosting, and Dr. Oz has a 7 day plan to boost energy.  He described that overwhelming sense of sluggishness as feeling “depleted”.  I couldn’t describe it better myself.  I’ve noticed that over the last few months, maybe even the last year, that I have felt fatigue in a way that I have never felt it before.  Maybe it’s because I’m in constant pain from the plantar fasciitis, maybe it’s stress, maybe it’s years of burning the candle at both ends finally catching up to me.  It doesn’t really matter because the fact is that I’m just plain tired all of the time and it bores a control freak Leo like me not to be able to fix how I’m feeling…or can I?  Hmm…maybe there is something in Dr. Oz’s 7 Day Plan that will boost my energy so that I can tiptoe through the tulips (although Toronto only has these at flower shops – bad example).  Maybe I will be able to put some spring in my step – but my heels ache, another bad example.  Maybe I will be able to put the pedal to the metal – oh right, I don’t drive.   Forget it – let’s just get to the tips – shall we?

Day 1 – Clean your gut with prebiotics – I’ve already blogged about these helpful little critters.  If your gut isn’t functioning properly, all of your systems can be affected, and you won’t feel perky.  They suggest a prebiotic smoothie that is very similar to the smoothie from Dr. Oz’s Two Week Rapid Weight Loss Plan.  Been there, gagged on that – not happening for me.  My compromise?  I will be more diligent about eating bananas since they provide the prebiotic boost to the smoothie.

Day 2 – Sharpen your brain by adding citrus fruits to every meal.  You kind of would have to be as thick as a brick or skipped health class to not realize that citrus fruit is very high in Vitamin C.  They can also boost mental acuity and help reduce our stress hormones making us less tired (fingers crossed).  I eat at least one orange or citrus fruit every day – I’ll keep that up and go back to drinking lemon in my water at least once a day.

Day 3 – Open your airways – foods high in magnesium help relax yours muscles, including those around your airways helping to keep them open.  They suggest eating flaxseeds – great – I try to eat them almost every day.  Just don’t do what I did this and put them in your soup like I did today – it was bordering on unpleasant and ruined a delightful home made tomato soup.  By the way – the other ingredient in my mother’s magical tomato soup is cauliflower – no wonder this dish is a cure all for the common cold!  It’s filled with Vitamin C from the cauliflower.  It really helped me today again – I’ll see if I can get the recipe – it’s worth a try when you have a cold and it is better than those nasty over the counter remedies that always make me feel worse.  Anyway, between the flaxseed and almonds and all other nuts I’ve been consuming, my airways are more than covered!  I’ll just keep it up.

Day 4 – Detoxify your liver – great – they suggest dandelion coffee.  Sounds delightful!  I also find that everytime I go into a health food store asking for an item like this – the person working there says “Did you see this on Dr. Oz”?  Me “Why, yes, of course” (seriously, where else would I hear about it).  They then proceed to tell me that they don’t have the product and I should stop listening to him.  Maybe after this year is up you smugly, but until then, it’s Dr. Oz’s way or the highway.  I’m not sure if I can find this but I’ll give it a try.

Day 5 – Boost blood – simply, get more iron.  Just consume a serving of meat, poultry or fish twice a day and you are fine.  I had tuna twice today, I’m covered.  I usually have poultry twice a day and I am also taking iron (only because I have to – don’t take it unless your doctor tells you too). 

Day 6 – Bring back the glow – they suggest two tablespoons of coconut oil a day – one for your skin and one to cook with.  Sigh – I’ll see what I can do.  Just massage the oil into your skin as you would a moisturizer and cook with it like you would with olive oil.  I’ll do my best to find this too.  I know they have it everywhere – it’s like the new probiotic which was like the new omega 3 which was like the new retin a which was like the new multivitamin which was like the new…I guess you get the picture.

Day 7 – Rejuvenate your heart – take an epsom salt and baking soda bath to reduce muscle tension and help you sleep.  It is filled with magesium and being difficient of this mineral can lead to an increased risk for heart disease, arthritis and join pain, stress-related illnesses, chronic fatigue and other maladies.  Good thing I’m nuts about nuts and flouncy about flaxseeds.  Maybe I’ll try the bath once a week and see how I feel…

It’s a lot to take in and a lot to buy!  I’m going to try doing this as soon as I have the time to buy everything that I need (really the dandelion coffee, some lemons, baking soda and coconut oil are all I need).  As always, I’ll keep you posted if I feel any differently after I start this energizing week.  It will likely happen the week after next to give me time to get everything.  I watched the video on doctoroz.com, frantically writing notes before I realized that they have a handy slide show with the steps listed – here it is for your reference http://www.doctoroz.com/slideshow/7-day-plan-boost-energy?gallery=true

Tonight, as I wrap this up, I am grateful that I am finally shaking this annoying cold and that I finished this blog – it took me a long time to get started today!  As always, I am…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

