The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

It’s April ! My OHM My!

Leave a comment

Image

Picture courtesy of http://www.spiritvoyage.com/yoga.aspx

Allow me to rephrase the quote above in Jill speak:

“Yoga teaches me to endure something that I despise…and endure that cannot be avoided – at least for this month”.  No, I’m not channeling my inner Gwyenth Paltrow, rather I’ve embraced (or consciously coupled) some of the things that I may have to do regardless of complete dread of having to practice them…

In case you are wondering, this month’s topic is GETTING ENERGIZED.  What does that mean for me?  I am going to be signing up for at least one yoga class a week, possibly two if I can make myself.  I’ve also signed up for Oprah & Deepak’s 21-Day Meditation Experience™, Finding Your Flow.  Yes, all the things that Dr. Oz swears by, I’m going to put into practice or want to die trying.

I know people love and swear by yoga – I kind of hate it but if it’s your thing, enjoy.  I did hot yoga for awhile 6-8 times a few years ago.  I was bored by the whole thing – my mind wandered the entire time.  PLUS, and no offense to you heavy breathers, but if I had to listen to a bunch of very serious people do a very sharp intake of breath and then make the WEIRDEST noises as they released it, I was going to go crazy.  Some people released other noises too, if you know what I mean, and I was laughing so hard that I was in tears most of the time.  Luckily, it was so hot and they just looked like sweat, so I was able to preserve my dignity, sort of.  The sad part was that I was the only one laughing.  I’m pretty sure that my friend wanted to disown me.  For the sake of our friendship, I turned in my yoga mat forever, and reserved the fancy lulu lemon gear for the gym…and Whole Foods trips so that I fit in.

So, after about an 8-year savasana – what brings me back to my not-so-favourite form of torture?  Dr. Oz recommends it.  Since I’ve been in pain for almost 10 months, I’m willing to try anything.  This time, I’m going to try Restorative Yoga and Yin.  I don’t know enough about either to write anything just yet, but I will next week when I go to my first classes – can’t wait!  I would have done it this week, but fate did me a favour – I mean intervened, and I have a cold, so I don’t want to inflict even more misery on myself. 

Meditation isn’t something that excites me either, but the whole point of this experiment to try things that I’ve never done before.  Dr. Oz recommends meditation for sleep and relaxation, so it’s worth a try.  Who better than CHO-PRAH to get me started with a three week crash course.  I’ve never meditated before, and I asked my mother, who sort of does what she thought about me doing it…her words “You’ll probably just laugh all the way through, but maybe it will be good for you”.  Thanks for the vote of confidence!  Ok, maybe just a giggle here and there, but at least I’m  being open to the experience.  Thankfully it’s free – you can sign up too at https://chopracentermeditation.com/ 

In addition to the fun and folly of yoga and meditation, I’ll be experimenting with different foods to restore me to my former zippiness…of course, I’ll be making notes about other suggestions that Dr. Oz may have.  I’ll be interviewing some of my trusty experts to fill in the gaps and get to the heart of what has been making me tired when I should be inspired.  I only used inspired because it rhymes with tired – I’m not getting self-helpy again. 

On that note, I’ll end with my daily thought of gratitude.  Today, I am grateful to Oprah and Chopra for the free meditiaton, just in case I do laugh my way through it…

Until Next Time – Namaste,

Jill

 

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

