The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

March-ing On

Leave a comment

Wow – another month has ended already.  I can tell you, that this was the most challenging month in my little experiment to live Oz-ily.  It was also my most expensive month to date – I spent $252.60 – a whopping $150 in getting myself everything that I needed for Dr. Oz’s Two Week Rapid Weight Loss Plan and another $102.60 on Vitamin C serum.  No wonder Dr. Oz has a media empire – its expensive trying to emulate him. 

Let me relive March for a brief, shining moment.  Three interviews (thank you Gail, Cheryl and Dwayne), one cleanse, one diet revamp/mash up, 8.5 pounds lost, a new obession with probiotics, a prebiotic dabble, daily expressions of gratitude and a lovely few days of channeling Gwyneth Paltrow.  Please don’t let me every do anything this stupid again, at least until April.  Oh wait, isn’t that tomorrow? 

I also probably learned more this month than in any other month.  I’ve been keeping up with the good habits that I learned to help me sleep better (still not 100% there) and look better (I still look the same).  Now let’s add all of the dietary changes and knowledge that I have gained.  As I mentioned, the Dr. Oz plan is easy to follow, I’m hoping it decreased my blood sugars, but time will tell on that one.  I felt awful on this “cleanse” and if I ever did it again, yes I would eliminate bread, but I would add more grain – the brain fog was not worth it.  Remember, I gave it a C+ for a reason.  I’ve kept my bread eating to once a day (except today) but it truly is whole grain, organic bread now.  I’ve taken what I like about the Dr. Oz plan (the vegetables, nuts and less bread) and mashed it up with Dash – more whole grains and fruit.  I don’t really crave anything specific anymore, although I was kind of excited to add some mango to my salad tonight.  If I was still doing the Dr. Oz plan, that would have been a major no-no.  I’m still impressed with the probiotics – I just want to be more consistent about revving them up with prebiotics.  I am ok eating this way forever.  I did have frozen yogurt after my salad at dinner on Saturday night and nothing bad happened to me. I also watched everyone around me eating french fries (seriously – why are they called french fries?  There is nothing french about them).  You know what, it didn’t bother me – mostly because I tried one and it tasted kind of gross. 

I think the main thing that I took away from this month’s experiment is the same thing that I learn every single month since I’ve started following Dr. Oz’s advice.  You can change your habits – it’s not easy – don’t get me wrong, but it can be done.  The other key learning (I sound so smart when I say that – don’t I?) is exactly what my three interview subjects said – slow and steady wins the race.  That can mean different things to different people.  For me, it means that if I want to avoid taking medication, that I just have to continue on the path that I am on and if I should falter (sorry, Gwyneth took over for a second) or my road is diverged (UGH stop Gwynnie – I’m trying to get an important point across) or if I fail, if I succeed, at least I’ll live as I believed (now Whitney Houston?)…Anyway, what I’m trying to say is that I am going to continue what I am doing, and if I have a bad day, well, that’s normal – no one is perfect, I just have to go back to my good habits the next day.  Do yourself a favour – don’t be an “I’ll start on Monday” person.  Monday never comes when it comes to people with grand ideas of changing their habits.  Start the very day you feel mentally ready.

Today, I am grateful for everything that I have learned this month and to the people whose insights made it much more fulfilling than just Dr. Oz could have made it.  Tomorrow is a new month, but don’t think you’ve heard the last of nutrition from me.  It’s all part of my master plan to find my way on the yellow brick road to good health.  So until April (that’s tomorrow – April Fools!), I am…

Gratefully yours,

Jill

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

