The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

40 Weeks to Go!

3 Comments

Time flies when you are doing cleanses, eating nuts, taking probiotics, keeping your room cool, not making shampoo mohawks, grinding flax-seeds, reading Oz related books, taking zinc, Vitamin B and Vitamin D3…and so on.  All I have to say is Oz is tiring me out!  It’s fun though and it really has made me think more than I ever really wanted to about everything health related.  This past week was interesting as I further invested myself in the MASH plan for the rest of my life.   In addition, I’ve been laying the groundwork for April’s topic, but I won’t be revealing that until April Fool’s Day! I also had a reminder that not everyone loves Dr. Oz as much as I may.  My cousin, in a very simple way, explained a lot and helped me see where the Oz plan failed.

I think that the challenge that many of us face is that we complicate things.  In the words of the immortal Jillian Michaels the secret to losing weight and maintaining that weight loss and healthy lifestyle is to eat less and exercise more.  Sounds simple doesn’t it?  I often wonder why many people can’t just follow that advice, myself included.  Maybe it’s the environment that we live in – some people refuse to accept simplicity since we live in such a complicated world.  OH NO – shudders, I’m getting all deep and self-helpy.  It’s true though.  I’m miffinmuffinmuffitymoo years old now (that’s code for ladies do not reveal their ages).  I know – just a spring chicken or maybe just a chicken in general?  Think about it for a minute – most people who read this have access to their country’s food guides or pyramids (most of my readers are from Canada and the US).  My cousin, a registered dietician, even said that it’s important to eat from all of the food groups.  There are recommended serving sizes – again, it’s not rocket science.  I know that there are some people out there who have food sensitivities for sure (some serious like Celiac Disease), however just as surely as I know that, I also know that there are ways to still eat the nutrients and food groups that we need, even if certain foods may cause issues.

People always say that they don’t have time for exercise or the money to eat decent food.  We all find the time time to do things that we want to do, myself especially.  We can all spare 30 minutes to get a work out in.  The only time it’s not worth it is when you are injured.  In Canada, we have stores like No Frills (I like my frills and even I shop there when forced) where prices are better.  I rarely buy organic, and I’ve read enough about how the orchards where they grow organic fruits and vegetables are right next to where they have orchards with pesticides and I, for one, am ok with a few pesticides – who wants to eat a bug – shudders.  There are even lists of foods, like bananas and oranges that don’t need to be organic because they are encased in a peel.  I’ll include them in a future entry.  I know I’m being preachy, but it’s because I’m a new convert to this lifestyle – proof that you can teach an old (well, not that old) dog new tricks – and please no comments on the dog bit.

This week, I spent $102.60 (including tax) on living the Oz way.  I bit the bullet and bought the Vitamin C serum that was given a thumbs up in “You Being Beautiful”.  It has 25% ascorbosilane so hopefully it’s good!  I promised to buy this last month and finally got around to it.  According to the book, Vitamin C serums are supposed to help protect the water soluable parts of your skin cells so you look less wrinkled and improve the formation of collagen and elastin.  I let you know if I notice any difference.

As always, I’ll end on a note of gratitude.  Today, I am grateful that I woke up before my alarm went off at 3:45am – doesn’t sound like something to be grateful for, but if I had slept in, or missed my alarm, there would be no end to the stress that I would have felt.

Gratefully Yours,

Jill

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

3 thoughts on “40 Weeks to Go!

  1. Hello tо еvery bodу, it’s mƴ first visit of this blog; this
    webpage consists of awesome and genuinely eхcellent Ԁata іn favor of readеrs.

    Like

  2. I like it whenn people get togeether and share opinions.
    Great blog, continue the good work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

