The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

41 Weeks To Go and A Birthday

Leave a comment

Image

I have a cousin, who is also one of my closest friends.  In fact, we call each other “frousin” – a combo of friend and cousin – isn’t that cute?  Come on, you know that’s a bit of an “Awwwww” moment!  Anyway, today is his birthday, I’m not going to mention which one, but he is younger than me so it’s not an embarassing age.  He is my concert buddy, a recent and future trip buddy (I’m the planner, the itinerary keeper and the social committee – I’m still not clear on what his role is), my partner in culinary crime and no that doesn’t mean we are “Cereal Killers” – get it????   He is just all around a great guy and today I’m grateful that I have him as a frousin and that I get to wish him the happiest of birthdays.  Plus, I get to test if he actually reads my blog – I’m not just writing this out of the goodness of my heart.

Now back to our story.  I have 41 weeks left in my year of living the Dr. Oz way.  It’s going by a little too fast for me.  When I started this blog back in January, I had no idea what to expect.  I didn’t know if it would make any type of difference to how I lived my life – I thought maybe I’d read a couple of articles on his website, finally have an excuse to buy Oprah magazine, watch a little of his show and finally crack open a couple of his books.  I’ve been surprised by what I’ve learned and the changes that I have made.  I’ve learned a lot about what works for me and what doesn’t.  I’ve also discovered a small window into what I hope is a lifetime of good health.  Do I think that Dr. Oz is the be all and end all?  Hell, yeah!  OK, kidding.  I think he has a lot of great information, but as with everything you have to sift through a lot of it to get to the nugget that will work best for you.  I also keep in mind that some of his information may conflict with what he may have already covered, but again, that’s where you have to be involved in your own health and wellness.  Remeber Oz haters, the guy has to cover a lot of content to keep viewers tuning in – and most people who watch a health show are going to be most interested in diet and quick fixes.  I hate to be the bearer of bad news though – I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, there are no quick fixes. 

This has been a relatively cheap week for me since I refuse to count groceries as part of my weekly totals. I’ve actually spent nothing – all of my supplements are paid for with the Dr. Oz 2 Week Rapid Weight Loss Plan and I’m done with almond milk for the time being.  Hooray for me!  I think or at least, I hope that you could tell from my entry yesterday that I am fascinated by how much better probiotics have been making me feel.  Tomorrow, I’m going to dig a little deeper and see if the type that I selected gives me all of the benefits that I need.  I’m also going to get the skinny on prebiotics and how the two work together.  Until then….

I am gratefully yours,

Jill

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

