The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

I’m Pro-Probiotic and a Mash Up

2 Comments

Image

This morning was day two of having bread – but only for breakfast.  An organic, multi-grain English muffin with peanut butter to be exact and I discovered something tragic, painful, even horrifying. Bread causes me to have heartburn. Cue the violins as I sing “All By Myself”…by myself.  I’ll be hosting a telethon titled a “Gluten Free World”, with a single profound tear rolling down my cheek in the spot promoting it.  I think filming it in black and white will create an emotional connection to the viewer at home.  Maybe I’ve worked in TV for too many years because I can totally visualize the script…Dr. Oz – help!!!!!!!!!!   Well, in the words of the good doctor, perhaps I shouldn’t catastrophize.  OK – three deep cleansing breaths and I should be fine.  Seriously, though, it’s nice to know that is part of why I have been suffering – silently of course – since I keep a stiff upper lip when it comes to discomfort. 

I discovered something else about myself.  I’m not ready to completely give up on Dr. Oz’s Two-Week Rapid Weight Loss plan.  Sure, I’ve modified it, or rather mashed it with a dose of Dash – the diet, not the sprint.  I will write more about the Dash plan, but let me tell you why the hardest part of love, I mean, eating plans is letting go.  When you have followed a plan for two entire weeks, it borders on habit.  There is a comfort in knowing what and how much to eat.  It’s almost second nature.  As much as there were things that I did not like about the plan, there were things that worked.  The modifications that I made are simple – bread for one meal (a serving not a loaf), a full cup of brown rice at dinner (instead of 1/2 a cup) and fruit in the afternoon for a snack.  Eating more grains and fruit is part of Dash – but focusing on vegetables, keeping dairy to Greek yogurt and eating nuts is pure Oz.  The six ounces of meat that I ate both days is a meeting of the two plans and you know what?  I sort of like it.  The idea of starting and planning a new way of eating was kind of stressing me out, so for this week, as I get to know Dash a little better, I think I’ll keep this up.

One habit that I will also keep up is taking probiotics in the morning in the form of a supplement.  In the past, I’ve only used them when I’ve been on an antibiotic (something I’ve only taken 3 times in my adult life).  As I mentioned, my tummy feels a lot better and I think it’s in large part to taking the daily supplement.  If you aren’t sure what a probiotic is, they are “…essential to basic human nutrition. Probiotics are live microorganisms (in most cases, bacteria) that are similar to the beneficial microorganisms naturally found in the human gut. These “good bacteria” are used to prevent and alleviate many different conditions, but particularly those that affect the gastrointestinal tract.” (from doctoroz.com)  Here is a link to a handy article on his site – http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/fact-sheet-probiotics.  You can get them from food, but it’s just as easy to take a supplement.  I would talk to your family doctor before you start taking one just to be safe.

One concern that I had was how long that I could safely stay on them.  I couldn’t find the answer on doctoroz.com, but Dr. Andrew Weil, a contributor to the website and genius in his own right says that you can stay on them indefinitely.  I am going to check in with my doctor in April to see what she has to say about it though.  Dr. Oz also recommends eating prebiotic rich foods to help “super-charge” your probiotics.  Some good sources include bananas, whole grains, honey (yum), garlic and onions.  Just don’t breathe on anyone after eating your garlic covered banana.  I’ll be including more bananas and whole grains into my diet.

To end the day, I’m grateful to the person who discovered probiotics.  Whoever you are – thank you – my intestinal flora is at one with the rest of the flora and fauna growing inside of me.  Kind of creepy when you think about it – huh?  On that note, I am gratefully yours…Jill.

 

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

2 thoughts on “I’m Pro-Probiotic and a Mash Up

  1. Thank you so much for sharing these beautiful words and for such a wonderful response…:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

