The "Whiz-ard" That Is Dr. Oz

And Other Stories

Grimace-ing No More!

Leave a comment

Image

It’s finally arrived – the last evening of my time on Dr. Oz’s Two-Week Rapid Weight Loss Plan…and today, I’m grateful for the fact that I won’t have to “Grimace” over another purple-hued smoothie again!  Well, at least not for a little while.  I survived the two weeks and as I sit here with my glass of lemon water (I’ve started drinking it more than once a day), I’ve been pondering what I’ve liked and didn’t like about my Whiz-ard’s plan and what I would change the next time that I do it and what I will continue to incorporate into my daily life.

The Sweet:

  • I got used to having the lemon water in the morning, but again, I had to drink it at room temperature – the hot was just too unbearable for me
  • I learned how to use a blender!!!
  • I loved the variety of vegetables that I ate – when you are eating a lot of them, you have to get creative plus stir-frying them in olive oil with lemon, cilantro, ginger and hot sauce was really yummy (unless I was just hungry)
  • I actually liked the fact that I could easily follow the diet when I went out.  I had a salmon salad one day, arctic char another and a lot of chicken salad. You just have to ensure that the dressing is oil and balsamic and that you put it on yourself.  It got me eating things other than chicken just to get variety
  • My stomach felt way better than it has for a long time on the plan – no more bloating or discomfort after I ate – it was amazing!
  • I had little or no heartburn
  • My skin seemed to get better – but I don’t want to jinx it
  • I liked that I got to eat brown rice – I love it, and not having any carbs would have made it difficult
  • The detox broth was very soothing and actually tasted really good
  • I’m not craving sugar and that’s a good thing
  • It got me back in the habit of snacking through the day and when I do this, I generally tend to eat healthier and make better choices
  • I learned that I can cut bread down (I won’t cut it completely out, but will only have it once a day)
  • It was really easy to follow, and as my trainer said, it was an attainable goal – anyone can do this for two weeks

The Sour:

  • We all know that I hated the smoothies – it made me dread the mornings
  • It was a lot of prep for snacks, breakfast, and meals
  • I did get sick of the lack of variety of food.  There were days I would have killed to have some fresh fruit or quinoa
  • It was expensive
  • It wasn’t truly susatinable for longer than two weeks
  • You couldn’t really exercise on the plan, and I agree with my trainer – diet and exercise go hand in hand.  I still did my weekly training session, but I felt like I was slipping backwards in my progress because I couldn’t get my heart rate up
  • I have to admit, I did get some brain fog – there was one day at work I made mistakes on the same piece of work four times – it was totally frustrating and there were times where I had a hard time concentrating
  • I felt a general lack of energy – more so than before I started

Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

  • I bought plain, unsweetened almond milk, next time I would get the vanilla flavoured one that Dr. Oz has in the recipe
  • I would get baggies of the flax seed and protein powder ready so that I just had to dump them in the blender in the morning – every minute that you can save helps
  • I would use fresh or frozed blueberries – the berry mix that I used (blueberry, raspberry and blackberry) had too many little seeds in it
  • I would continue to drink coffee and black tea – I know that you weren’t supposed to, but Dr. Oz also believes that they have health benefits and it did make the two weeks more bearable
  • I would do a lot more prep ahead of time – make a week’s worth of brown rice, cut up all of the veggies so that they are ready to go and maybe even pre-cook some chicken to top my salads with

Keep it Up

  • As I mentioned above, I’ll keep up with the lemon water – I just felt more hydrated drinking the extra water in the morning
  • I’ll continue with the probiotics for now, because I do feel better since I’ve started taking them.  I will check into how long you should take them for and see what Dr. Oz thinks and report back to you
  • Salad is an easy lunch and I’ll keep having it as one of my main meals throughout the day.  It’s an easy, starch-free meal
  • I’ll be limiting my dairy, unless it’s for a treat.  My skin is better and I feel better.  I’m going to keep having a greek yogurt every single day and I’ll count the milk that I use in my tea and coffee as my other serving when I start my new plan tomorrow
  • You are allowed nuts on this plan and Dr. Oz highly recommends eating nuts for various reasons so I’m continuing on with being nuts…about nuts

Overall, I am happy that I tried this plan and that I stuck it out for the whole two weeks even on the days, and there were plenty, where I didn’t feel my best.  I still don’t believe that my body is “reset” and that I’m “detoxed”.  I believe that you should fuel your body with the best possible foods  that hopefully, in some cases, this will have health benefits for you.  I would consider doing this plan again if I felt like my eating was off track and to get me back into clean eating habits.  Even though this wasn’t about weight loss for me, rather, starting on a path to wellness and getting myself out of pre-diabetes, I did lose almost seven pounds.  I have accepted that I will gain a pound or two this week while I start a new plan.  Overall, this plan gets a C+ from me.

 

Author: Jill Schneiderman

Hello and welcome to my blog. This started as a one year experiment to try to improve my health, turning to Dr. Oz for advice. One year became two and after that, the writing bug hit and writing about travel, lifestyle and my own musings became more fun. I'll return to the "Whiz-ard" when the feeling comes, but exploring other topics and getting to connect with new people and re-connect with old friends has been fun! Remember, any health advice you see here should be vetted with your family doctor. Any travel advice that I give though, should be followed! I am a marketing professional, working in media. This allows me to continue my obsession with all things TV and print and get paid for it. I'm an avid traveller, reader and shopper but make time for friends, family and volunteering so that I don't feel completely shallow.

Leave a Reply

